Skip to content

SFHS Class of 2013 to graduate Friday

SFHS Class of 2013 to graduate Friday
Special Features Editor
The excitement of graduation begins at 7 p.m. Thursday for members of the South Fulton High School Class of 2013.
They will meet in the school gym for Class Night, which will begin with a processional to “Don’t Stop Believin’” and will include a welcome by Mikaela Hardy, class president and valedictorian. Corrisa Bettis, one of the class historians, will read the Senior Poem and Taylor Martin, class treasurer, will present Who’s Who from the graduates. Hayley Pilcher, another of the historians, will read the class history and Tori Gammon, class secretary, will be in charge of the presentation of gifts.
Guidance counselor Pam Burrow, SFHS principal Keith Frazier and Dr. Mike Hawks will announce Honors and Emily McCartney, third class historian and class salutatorian, will introduce the class video.
The members of the class will then sing their Alma Mater and Samantha Murray, the class vice president, will offer the closing.
Junior ushers for the celebration will include Carter Arnold, Brie Cobb, Ryan Harper, Josh Hollowell, Abby O’Neal, Haeven Sisson, JoAnna Taylor, Savannah Walker, Lauren Wheeler and Rachel White.
Other class officers include reporter Ginna Bennett and sergeant-at-arms Andrew Reed.
On Friday evening at 5:30, in the gym, members of the class will receive their diplomas in long-awaited graduation ceremonies that will begin as they process to “Pomp and Circumstance.” Their high school achievements will be indicated by colors they will be wearing. Students singled out for their accomplishments will include those graduating with honors, graduating with distinction, earning Top Ten status, completing the goals to become Challenge graduates  and claiming Tennessee Scholars status.
Miss Hardy will welcome those in attendance and give the valedictorian’s address, with Miss McCartney offering the salutatorian’s remarks.
Frazier will give the commencement address and will be joined in awarding diplomas by Mrs. Burrow, Obion County School System director of schools David Huss and school board members.
Arnold will make the presentation of flowers and Huss will offer remarks and make the pronouncement of graduates before the class recesses.
Members of the SFHS Class of 2013 include Austin Lane Akers (Honors, Distinction), David Allen Alexander Jr., Taylor Hope Allen (Challenge Graduate, D, Tennessee Scholar), Stephen Lane Archie, Tierra Octavia Bates, Ravonshae Zhane Bell, Ginna Elizabeth Bennett (D, TS), Corrisa Renee Bettis (H, D, CG, TS, Top Ten), Grace Ann Bruner (H, D, CG, TS, TT), Dakota Grant Cantrell, Hunter Blake Casey, Curtis Dwayne Cathey, Christopher Blake Copelen, Jim Counce Covington II (D), Taleeah Marquecia Cross (TS), SaraLynn Eaves (D, CG, TS), Austin Ray Elks, John Patrick Fowler (H, D), Tori Amber Gammon (H, D, TT, CG, TS), Xavier George Jaquay Garmon, Charles Crockett Glisson, Shaine Micheal Hahn, Laken Elicia Haley, Mikaela Margaret Hardy (H, D, TT, CG, TS, valedictorion), Liberty Cheyenne Harris (D, TT, CG, TS), Jewelia Evelyn Hazelwood, Tevarius Deon’tra James, Jessica Rae Johns (CG, TS), Alexis Nichole Johnson, Adrianna Na’Shae Jones, Jeanie Elise Jones (TS), Tyler Ray Keeling, William Daniel Knueppel II, Alexander Roy Kopriva, Kalon Berneece Martin, Preston Mycerone Martin, Taylor Scott Martin (D, TT, CG, TS), Ragan Nicole Mathis, Emily Danielle McCartney (H, D, TT, CG, TS, salutatorian), Heather Niccole McClanahan, Claressa Jane McConnell (TS), Derrick Dwayne Minor Jr., Montana Nicole Morris, Jorgianna Danielle LeBrooke Morton (D, TT, CG, TS), Samantha Jae Murray (D, TT, CG, TS), Ashley Nicole Park, Dylan Mark Pearcey, Hayley McCall Pilcher (H, D, CG, TS), Ryan Hennings Prince (H, D, TS), Robert Austin Puckett (CG, TS), Sara Ann Reams (H, D, TT CG, TS), Andrew Davis Reed, Kristen Taylor Roach (D), Kimberly Alikita Jervon Scott, Jalen Wilson Sowell (H, D, TS), Alison Elizabeth Stem (D, CG, TS), Desiray  Summer Sturgeon, Demita De’Asian Swift, Zackary Scott Vaughn (H, D, TS), Marcus Harold Wade, Mary Francis Walker, Dominic Austin White and Sarah Louise Whitworth.
Published in The Messenger 5.29.13

Leave a Comment