|State fire marshal’s office urges caution with outdoor burning |
|Posted: Monday, April 15, 2013 9:02 pm |
branches. Never leave a campfire unattended. Extinguish your fire completely.
• Establish wide control lines down to bare mineral soil at least five feet wide around burn piles.
• Avoid burning materials on windy, dry days. When conditions are windy or dry, it is easy for open burning to spread out of control.
• Where outdoor burning is allowed, never use gasoline or other flammable or combustible liquids.
• When burning materials, have a hose, bucket of water or shovel and dirt or sand nearby to extinguish the fire.
• In the unfortunate event that a fire does get out of control, call 911 immediately and wait in a safe place for the arrival of the local fire department.
From Oct. 15 through May 15, anyone starting an open-air fire within 500 feet of a forest, grassland or woodland must by law secure a burning permit from the Tennessee Department of Agriculture’s Division of Forestry. Permits are not required for burning in containers such as a metal barrel with a half-inch mesh screen cover. The permits can be obtained by calling your local Division of Forestry office between the hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Permits are generally good for 24 hours and can be issued for weekend burning. Permits can also be obtained online for small-scale burning of leaf and brush piles measuring less than 8 feet by 8 feet in area. The online system was developed to more efficiently issue permits to landowners conducting small-scale debris burns, and to provide better access through the weekend and evening hours for landowners. These permits can be obtained on days and in counties where burn permits are allowed, by visiting http://BurnSafeTn.org. The website is also a good source of information for safe debris burning practices and fire prevention tips, including how to protect your home in the event of a wildfire.
Anyone needing to burn within an incorporated city should contact city authorities about any local burning ordinances. Many towns and cities have their own burning regulations that supersede the Division of Forestry’s burning permit program. For more information on burning regulations, including how to obtain a burn permit, visit the Division of Forestry at http://BurnSafeTn.org.
For information on what materials may not be burned in Tennessee, visit the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation’s Open Burning Guidelines: www.tn.gov/environment/apc/pdf/OpenBurningBrochure.pdf.
Published in The Messenger 4.15.13