Skip to content

At the college level

At the college level

Posted: Wednesday, January 30, 2013 6:00 pm

The Messenger 01.30.13

Teena Nicole Lairy of Union City recently received a master’s degree in family and consumer science from the University of Tennessee at Martin during its fall commencement ceremony.
Ms. Lairy is a 1997 graduate of Union City High School.
— — —
Tieranee Rayjean Stur-divant recently graduated from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
She received a master of professional studies degree in industrial/organizational psychology and a certification in instructional systems development with a 3.7 grade point average in the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Ms. Sturdivant graduated from Union City High School in 2007 and is the daughter of Anthony and Deloris Sturdivant.
Her thesis focused on “Implementing a Marketing Initiatives Program to Increase Organizational Development.” Her goal was to utilize technology as a change management tool to create a cohesive work environment and amplify the organization to attract a diverse clientele base. The research was conducted at Strategic Creations LLC, an educational, business and technology consulting firm.
Ms. Sturdivant is a member of the Personnel Testing Council of Metropolitan Washington and has attended conferences in Arlington, Va., with professionals and representatives from many District of Columbia area agencies and companies to gain valuable insight on the latest research, innovations and employment opportunities in the industrial/organizational psychology field. She is also a member of the Society for Human Resource Management, Society for Industrial/Organizational Psychology and the National Association of African Americans in Human Resources.
She is a recruiting coordinator at the Champion Agency in the Washington, D.C., area.
— — —
Several students from Obion County were recently named to the Dean’s List for the fall semester at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.
The honorees, listed by hometown, included:
• Kenton — Allison M. Reddin, cum laude.
• South Fulton — Stephen M. Graves, cum laude; and Megan L. White, cum laude.
• Troy — Jessica L. Hart, summa cum laude.
• Union City — Tyler G. Buckelew, cum laude; James C. Donaldson, cum laude; Katie E. Donaldson, summa cum laude; Hailey C. Fishel, cum laude; Paige A. Fisher, cum laude; Christina D. Jackson, summa cum laude; Russell H. Smith, magna cum laude; and Nicholas S. Sudbury, magna cum laude.
To qualify for the Dean’s List at UT, an undergraduate student must earn a term grade point average of 3.80–4.00 (summa cum laude), 3.65–3.79 (magna cum laude) or 3.50–3.64 (cum laude). Students must complete at least 12 credit hours, not counting work taken on a satisfactory/no-credit basis, to be eligible.
— — —
Drew Crews of Hornbeak was recently named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Freed-Hardeman University in Henderson, where he is a freshman majoring in chemistry.
At Freed-Hardeman, being included on the Dean’s List requires maintaining a minimum grade point average of 3.40 for the semester and full-time status.
— — —
Dyersburg State Com-munity College recently recognized a number of local students by naming them to the Dean’s List or the honor roll for the fall semester.
Among those named to the Dean’s List were:
• Obion — Jon M. Koob.
• South Fulton — Morgan E. Maxwell, Kimberly Stone and Ryan Bradley Waggoner.
• Troy — Jessica T. Davis, Aubri Leigh Henderson, Leah Deelane Hutchison, William Michael McKenzie, Jordan Roe Smith and Joli Ann Tackett.
• Union City — Michael E. Arnett, Sandra Joyce Beasley, Chantell L. Bolden, Phyllis Michelle Brandon, Cheryl L. Brown, Leonard Earl Davis, Ricky K. Horton, Tracy Annette Jenkins, Cortney L. Johnson and Kenneth Lee McCord.
To be included on the Dean’s List at DSCC, a student must complete at least 12 semester hours of college level courses during the semester and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester.
The students named to the honor roll included:
• Fulton — Mary Helen Maddox.
• Kenton — Seth Michael Lozier.
• Hornbeak — David E. Lamastus.
• Obion — Kimberly Gurien, Kelsey Nicole Jackson and Bobbie Ann Sanford.
• Troy — James Elzie Spaulding and Nathan Alexander Ward.
• Union City — Harold Damon Barnes, Tracy Ann Clark, Austin Garrett Dunn, James Mack Hudspeth, Jonathan D. Jonas, Kristina Lynn Moore, Aby Burrell Morris, Linda Carol Stokes, Gerri Warren and Mary R. Wellons.
To be included on Dyersburg State’s honor roll, a student must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours of college level courses during the semester and earn a grade point average between 3.0 and 3.49 during the semester.
— — —
Three students from Obion County were recently named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Walters State Community College in Morristown.
The honorees included Jeff Hayslett, Andrew Michael Kelly and Richard Wayne Pollock.
At Walters State, a student can earn Dean’s List recognition for a grade point average of 3.5-3.99 while carrying 12 hours or more.

, , , , , ,

Leave a Comment