Skip to content

Senate approves McWherter for TVA board

Senate approves McWherter for TVA board
Senate approves McWherter  for TVA board

NASHVILLE — The U.S. Senate has approved four new members to the board of directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority, which will go on to the President’s desk for his signature.
The Senate on Tuesday approved the nominations of Vera Lynn Evans of Tennessee, C. Peter Mahurin of Kentucky, Michael McWherter of Tennessee, and Joe H. Ritch of Alabama to fill vacancies on the nine-member board.
President Barack Obama made the nominations in February and September. One board member, Marilyn Brown, also was nominated by the president for reappointment, but her nomination was not voted on by the full Senate.
In a statement, TVA Chairman Bill Sansom said, “I am pleased the Senate has confirmed the nominations of these four outstanding individuals who will provide strong business, financial and public service leadership to TVA.”
Tennessee Sens. Lamar Alexander and Bob Corker also welcomed the new members to the board of the utility, which provides electricity to 9 million people in Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina and Virginia.
“I believe, after meeting these individuals and studying their backgrounds and qualifications, that they will provide strong board leadership,” Alexander said in a statement.
“I appreciate the willingness of experienced individuals to serve TVA as it goes through an important leadership transition over the next few months,” Corker said in a statement. Published in The WCP 1.3.13