Skip to content

All-league selections bring positive ending to Rebs’ 2012 year

All-league selections bring positive ending to Rebs’ 2012 year
Messenger Sports
There was a silver lining to the Obion County Central 2012 football season.
Three members of the Rebel team were tabbed as first-team All-District 13AA selections.
The picks came on the heels of a disappointing season in Troy, the Rebels finishing with s 2-8 record.
The OC program is also searching for a new head coach following the resignation of Shawn Jackson, who posted a 22-32 record in five years at the helm.
The vote of league coaches, with the number of spots per team designated by each team’s finish in the league standings, included senior lineman Drew Hayes (6-3, 268), senior wide receiver Blake Rudd (5-8, 170) and senior linebacker Nathan Spaulding (6-1, 175)
Hayes led the way up front for an offense that proved it could move the football, averaging 300.3 yards per game. The Rebels were balanced with an edge to the passing game as OC threw for 1,717 yards and rushed for 1,285.
The Rebels threw it 289 times, completing 143, and rushed 296 times, averaging 4.3 yards a carry.
Rudd led the Rebels’ passing game, catching 46 passes for 524 yards and four scores. He finished the season with 26 total points, third on a team that scored 201 points.
Spaulding closed out a stellar prep career on the defensive side of the ball with 117 total tackles this past season.
He had a sack and forced three fumbles.
Jackson also designated three second-team selections and three honorable mentions at the team’s postseason banquet last month.
Listed on the second team were Josh Floyd, Trent Mann and Hunter Short. Honorable Mention picks included Bryce Warner, Dalton Edmaiston annd Jake Garrigan.
Covington and South Gibson County topped the recognition and first-team list.
Covington had 12 picks, including four of the special awards, while SGC had 10, including three special awards.
Covington’s Marty Wheeler and Scott Stidham of South Gibson were co-coaches of the year.
Johnston White of Covington was the MVP, Carlos Walden of SGC was named Best Offensive Player and Arkel Coleman of Milan was tabbed as the Best Defensive Player.
The top linemen were Dyersburg’s Kaleb Hinson (offense) and Covington’s Jaidarius Temple (defense).
Brady VanCleve of Covington was named Best Kicker, and Christian Hamilton of Crockett County was selected Best Punter.
Covington advanced to the Class 4A BlueCross Bowl state championship game, while South Gibson was 10-0 in the regular season before suffering a first-round upset in the 3A state playoffs.
Ripley, Westview and Gibson County had three first-team picks, along with the Rebels.
Dyersburg was third on the list with seven picks, followed by Milan with six and Crockett County with five. Published in The Messenger 12.11.12

Leave a Comment