Hagan named president of state bankers division

Hagan named president of state bankers division
Hagan named president of state bankers division | Hagan named president of state bankers division

Michael W. Hagan
Reelfoot Bank president and chief executive officer Michael W. Hagan has been installed as the new president of the Independent Bankers Division of the Tennessee Bankers Asso-ciation.
Hagan was elected during the group’s annual convention held this past weekend in Nashville. The convention was attended by about 145 community bankers from across the state.
“I was surprised when I got the phone call,” he said about being notified he was on the ballot for president of the division.
He said he is “quite honored” and “pleased with the opportunity to fill the position.”
He explained Reelfoot Bank has always been actively involved with the TBA and that he is looking forward to serving as president of the Independent Bankers Division.
Hagan succeeded Jeffrey L. Cunningham in the division’s top office.
As president of the Independent Bankers Division, he will serve as an ex-officio member of the Tennessee Bankers Association board of directors for 2012–13.
The TBA board is responsible for establishing the overall goals, policies and activities of the association.
The TBA Independent Bankers Division was organized in 1973 to represent the interests of Tennessee’s community banks in areas such as legislation and education.
Hagan said as president he will be actively involved in continuing the organization’s commitment to lobbying for issues related to banking — on the state and national levels. He will be a member of the organization’s annual trip to Washington, D.C.
Also elected as officers in the association were Ted Williams, president and CEO of TriStar Bank in Dickson, president-elect; W. Logan Hickman Jr., executive vice president of People Bank of the South in LaFollette, first vice president; Phillip Renfroe, president and CEO of Community Bank in Lexington, second vice president; and Bill Yoder, president and CEO of Southern Community Bank in Tullahoma, secretary/treasurer.
In addition to the new slate of executive officers, new directors elected to three-year terms on the board included Matthew Daniels, president and CEO of Bank of Camden in Camden, representing West Tennessee; Mike Cook, president and CEO of Sumner Bank & Trust in Gallatin, representing Middle Tennessee; and Daryle Keck, president and CEO of First People Bank of Tennessee in Jefferson City, representing East Tennessee.
Wayne Minton, president and CEO of The Bank of Milan in Milan, was elected to fill Hagan’s one-year unexpired term.
The Tennessee Bankers Association was founded in 1890 and is headquartered in Nashville as a not-for-profit organization representing the state’s commercial banks and thrift institutions and their employees.
The association provides continuing education, develops and monitors state and federal legislative agendas, disseminates information on all facets of the financial industry and promotes the public image of financial institutions.
Published in The Messenger 10.30.12

Leave a Comment