DSCC’s alumni group gathers

DSCC’s alumni group gathers

Posted: Wednesday, October 10, 2012 6:00 pm

The Messenger 10.10.12

Live jazz music provided by students, a silent auction, a photo show of the year’s accomplishments and a buffet dinner set the tone for Dyersburg State Community College’s annual meeting.
Over 40 alumni, faculty, staff members and students attended the event.
The meeting was held in the DSCC Student Center on the Dyersburg campus and marked the beginning of the association’s year of activities.
After the meal, 2011-12 president Kevin Cook opened the floor for business.
Elected to serve as Alumni Board members for 2012-15 were Linda Crigger of Rives, Steve Robey of Martin, Sandy Tarkington of Finley, Kim Hill of Newbern, Rodney Alford of Kenton and Stephen Thomas and Alicia Wilson, both of Dyersburg.
Having been elected vice president/president-elect for 2011-12, Sharon Davidson of Dyersburg will serve as the association’s president for 2012-13. Alice Eison was elected vice president/president-elect and Wayne Karlgaard was elected treasurer. Both are from Dyersburg.
The association also approved its Program of Work for 2012-13. Special events for the coming year will include a reception for DSCC alumnus Todd Hopkins in November and an alumni baseball game scheduled for April 2013.
The Dyersburg State Alumni Association works to build a strong base of support and loyalty for the college among its graduates and former students, a spokesman said. Those who have completed nine semester hours (or their equivalent) are eligible for membership.
For more information about the DSCC Alumni Association, contact alumni coordinator Jane Pate by phone at (731) 286-3347 or by email at pate@dscc.edu.


Leave a Comment