Skip to content

At the college level

At the college level

Posted: Wednesday, May 2, 2012 6:00 pm

The Messenger 05.02.12

Michael G. Ruddy of Union City recently received the Louise Knifley Memorial Scholarship Award during the 48th annual Honors Day at the University of Tennessee at Martin.
This award is given to a junior or senior mathematics major or secondary education mathematics major with a 3.50 GPA in mathematics and a 3.00 or above overall GPA.
— — —
Brandt Sisson of South Fulton received the Outstanding Biology Student Award from the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences during the University of Tennessee at Martin’s 48th annual Honors Day.
Outstanding Student Awards were given from each of UT Martin’s five colleges, as were many departmental and university-wide scholarships.
— — —
Several students from Obion County were recently honored at Dyersburg State Community Coll-ege’s Awards Convocation.
Students were singled out for their leadership at the college and in the community. Awards were presented by the academic department and DSCC officials honored students who earned places on the Dean’s List.
Altogether, 255 awards and recognitions were presented.
Among the local recipients were:
• English composition 1010 certificates — Kristi Johnson of Union City and David K. Mathis of Troy.
• English/world literature certificates — Brian Hill of Kenton, Jonathan Jonas of Union City and Joli Tackett of Troy.
• Psychology certificate — Sheridan Daniels of South Fulton.
• Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities — Angela G. Elkins of Union City, Andrew M. Kelly and Tanya D. Sampson, both of Troy, David E. Lamastus of Hornbeak, Brittany C. Parker of Kenton and Pamela N. Sharp of South Fulton.
• Dean’s List for two consecutive terms, arts and sciences — Jessica A. Baker of South Fulton, Susan B. Douglas of Hornbeak, Kayle B. Garland and Tammy K. McNeal, both of Troy, and Elizabeth M. Hammersley and Joshua G. Hudson, both of Union City.
• Dean’s List for two consective terms, business and technology — Andrew M. Kelly of Troy and Jessica L. Swinford of South Fulton.
• Dean’s List for two consecutive terms, ESM — Aubri L. Henderson of Troy.
• Dean’s List for three consecutive terms, arts and sciences — Whitney N. Davis, Kisha D. Kelly and Michael L. Quiton, all of Troy.


Leave a Comment