Sports Briefs

Sports Briefs
UCHS girls’ team
will play in jamboree

The Union City High School girls’ basketball team will participate in the Dyer County Jamboree on Saturday.
The Lady Tornadoes will face USJ in the exhitibition, set to begin at 6 p.m.
Tickets are on sale at UCHS for $5 and all pre-sold tickets will benefit the team.
Both Union City teams will open their 2011-12 seasons on Nov. 17 with Hall of Champions games against visiting Chester County.

Meet the Red Devils
hoops event slated

The South Fulton High School basketball teams will hold a “Meet the Red Devils” night on Friday in preparation for the upcoming seasons.
The Devilette girls team will play an intra-squad scrimmage for a half beginning at 7 p.m., to be followed by two quarters of a split-squad scrimmage on the boys side.
There will be no admission charge.
SFHS will open its 2011-12 campaign with a Hall of Champions game at Obion Central on Tuesday night.

Union City’s Sisco
earns Bridges award

Shane Sisco is a Bridges award winner.
The Union City High School boys’ basketball head coach has been named the Male Coach of the Year for athletic District 8 as part of the A.F. Bridges Awards program.
Sisco has led the Golden Tornadooes to a pair of state championships during his tenure at the school.
The program honors people in seven categories over the state’s nine athletic districts. Also on the local awards list is Lake County boys’ basketball coach Dawn Barger as the Female Coach of the Year.
Nominations were made by a Citizenship/Sportsmanship Committee in each athletic district.
UTM V-ball player
a scholar-athlete

Jenna Miller of UT Martin was one of six individuals to receive the Ohio Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete Award for 2010-11.
The award is the highest individual honor that can be earned by OVC student-athletes and is given annually to three men and three women of junior or senior status for their accomplishments in both the classroom and athletic arena, and because of their leadership qualities.
The six winners were selected from a group of 20 finalists by a vote of OVC Faculty Athletics Representatives.
Honorees must have performed athletically with distinction, earned at least a 3.25 grade point average and conducted themselves in a manner which has brought credit to the student-athlete, his or her institution, intercollegiate athletics and the OVC.
The award is based on academic and athletic criteria/accomplishments achieved during the 2010-11 school year.
Joining Miller as award winners are: Emory Attig of Eastern Kentucky (football), Lauren Harkins of Jacksonville State (volleyball), Ty Proffitt of Morehead State (basketball), Paul Ritzheimer of Murray State (baseball) and Bridget Sanchez of Eastern Illinois (track and field).
Published in The Messenger 11.9.11

Leave a Comment