Skip to content

WestStar names board of trustees members

WestStar names board of trustees members

Posted: Thursday, October 13, 2011 8:54 am

Seven new members have been named to the WestStar Board of Trustees.  Serving three-year terms through 2014 are Kathy Moore Cowan, Bobby Dyer, Joe Emery, Tom Gee, Jo Matherne, Garry Welch and Jim Wyatt. They join 15 other trustees in shaping the future of WestStar at the University of Tennessee at Martin.
Cowan is a 2010 WestStar graduate from Shelby County. She is a senior community development specialist with the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis-Memphis Branch.
Dyer is a 2009 WestStar graduate from Henderson County. He is the mayor of the City of Lexington.
Emery is a 2009 WestStar graduate from Dyer County. He is the executive vice president of Security Bank, Dyersburg.
Gee is a 2003 WestStar graduate from Henry County. He is the CEO of Henry County Medical Center, Paris.
Matherne is a 2002 WestStar graduate from Haywood County. She is the mayor of the City of Brownsville.
Welch is a 2007 WestStar graduate from Hardin County. He is the Savannah city manager.
Wyatt is a 2008 WestStar graduate from Tipton County. He is the community bank president for First State Bank, Atoka.
Now in its 23rd year, WestStar serves the 21 counties of West Tennessee and is the state’s oldest and largest regional leadership development program.
The WestStar Leadership Program is committed to training new leaders with the skills and strategies needed to promote community success and maximize the potential of West Tennessee.
For more information, contact Virginia Grimes, coordinator, at 881-7298 or go online to

WCP 10.11.11

Leave a Comment