Students add wins at math contest

Students add wins at math contest

Posted: Friday, May 27, 2011 10:19 am

The Messenger 05.27.11

Two local students were among the overall winners in the 2011 Middle School/Junior High School Mathematics Contest recently held on the University of Tennessee at Martin campus.
Among those who claimed honors were Whittney Lee of Lake Road Elementary School and Matthew Atwill of Union City Middle School.
The contest was sponsored by the Department of Mathematics and Stat-istics. It was also held at Middle Tennessee State University in Murfreesboro, Austin Peay University in Clarksville and Pellissippi State Technical Community College in Knoxville.
At UT Martin, the 2011 Middle School/Junior High Mathematics Contest drew more than 450 people representing 21 different public and private schools in northwest Tennessee. A total of 370 students sat for the exams and more than 80 teachers, sponsors and parents participated in the contest.
University School of Jack-son won the Sixth Grade Team Award and Dyersburg Middle School won both the Seventh Grade Team Award and the Eighth Grade Team Award. The top four scores from a school constitute the team score.
The top 10 individuals by grade included:
• Sixth grade — First, Caleb Weatherly, Fayette Academy; second, Page Askins, University School of Jackson; third, Matthew Atwill, Union City Middle School; fourth, Jeongmin You, Martin Middle School; fifth, Sarah Owens, Dyersburg Middle School; sixth, Tylin Barnhill, Milan Middle School, seventh, Cole Justice, Martin Middle School; seventh, Rylee Smith, Rutherford Junior High School; and ninth (tie), Patrick Aherrera, University School of Jackson, and Emily Erwin, Martin Middle School.
• Seventh grade — First, James Pritchett, Martin Middle School; second, Hunter Norman, Dyersburg Middle School; third, Jose Morales, Dyersburg Middle School; fourth, Amanda Dunn, Dyersburg Middle School; fifth, Mallika Machra, University School of Jackson; sixth, Trip Johnson, Dyersburg Middle School; seventh, Justin Miller, Huntingdon Middle School; eighth (tie), Garrett Holland, Milan Middle School, and Houston Shearin, Trinity Christian Academy; and 10th (tie), Brianna Richardson, Crock-ett County Middle School, and Katelyn Swaim, Jackson Christian School.
• Eighth grade — First, Sawyer Antonetti, Fayette Academy; second, Whitt-ney Lee, Lake Road School; third, Melissa Dill, Huntingdon Middle School; fourth, Gunner Garner, Northview Middle School; fifth (three-way tie), Johni Armstrong, Dyersburg Mid-dle School, John Ferguson, Fayette Academy, and Savannah Fuqua, Milan Middle School; eighth, Zach Larson, Northview Middle School; and ninth (three-way tie), Lauren Gilbreth of W.O. Inman Middle School, Austin Roach of Ridgemont Junior High School, and Shehla Yousuf of Dyersburg Middle School.

, , , , ,

Leave a Comment