TN Education Association honors educators, supporters

TN Education Association honors educators, supporters

Posted: Monday, May 23, 2011 10:29 am

The Messenger 05.23.11

The Tennessee Education Association handed out awards to Tennessee educators and education supporters Friday at the group’s annual awards luncheon at its Nashville headquarters.
The TEA recognized the 2010-11 Distinguished Classroom Teachers, including Constance Thomas Brown (Clarksville-Mont-gomery), Melanie DeAnne Buchanan (Cheatham County), Dr. Nancy H. Holland (Metro-Nashville), Beth Widner Jackson (Ath-ens City), Louise Stauffer (McMinn County) and Meron Wang (Shelby County).
Cynthan Darnell of Rob-ertson County received the award for 2011 Dis-tinguished Education Support Professional. The Distinguished Administrator Award recipients were William D. Moody (Metro-Nashville) and Becky Wright Coleman (Hamilton County).
The Distinguished Higher Education Faculty Member Award was presented to Dr. Carrie L. Whaley of Union University in Jackson.
Kathleen Benedict of Anderson County was recognized as TEA’s nominee for the 2010 National Education Association Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence.
The E. Harper Johnson Human Relations Award for the layperson category was presented to Karen Perrin of Shelby County. The Metro Nashville Education Association was honored in the local association category and Susan E. Floyd was this year’s educator awardee.
Jeanine Evans of Shelby County received the Susan B. Anthony Award for her work in support of programs and achievements for women and girls.
The winners of the 2010-11 Don Sahli-Kathy Woodall Scholarships were also announced.
The $1,000 Sons and Daughters Scholarship was presented to Patty Cupples of West Carroll Junior/Senior High School. This year’s $1,000 Future Teachers of America Scholarship recipient was Rachel Praytor of Obion County Central High School. Hieu Trung Pham of Smyrna High School received the Minority Scholarship.
Marilauren Anderson of the University of Tennessee at Martin and Student TEA president Caryce Gilmore of UT Martin both received $1,000 STEA scholarships. The STEA also awarded $500 scholarships to Amanda Countiss (King College) and Rachel Clabo (Tusculum College).
The 2010 School Bell Awards for excellence in media coverage of education and TEA’s Friend of Education Awards were presented Friday evening at the TEA Representative Assembly. TEA School Bell Awards for outstanding coverage by an individual reporter were presented to Blake Farmer of Nashville Public Radio WPLN-FM and Vicki Yates of News Channel 5 WTVF-TV.
TEA’s 2011 Friend of Education Awards was presented to Jeff Madeksho of Shelby County in the individual category and Kids Connection of Athens in the organization category.

, , ,

Leave a Comment