Skip to content

Greenfield citizen named Weakley Countian of the Year

Greenfield citizen named Weakley Countian of the Year
Greenfield citizen named Weakley Countian of the Year | Weakley County Chamber of Commerce President's banquet

2010 Weakley County Chamber of Commerce President Todd Hampton (left) presents the Weakley Countian of the Year award to Mike Biggs.

Weakley County community members were encouraged to continue to bond together and grow through tough times.
It was only fitting that the person chosen to be the Weakley Countian of the Year at Tuesday night’s Weakley County Chamber of Commerce Annual President’s Banquet was renowned horticulturalist and gardener Mike Biggs.
Introduced by last year’s winner, Joe Brasher, Biggs was lauded as a businessman, educator, banker, public servant and family man. Residing in Greenfield, he is president of Biggs Greenhouse. He once held the title of Weakley County Educator of the Year and taught math at Greenfield High School for 28 years.
He was the first level-three teacher of Tennessee. In addition to other honors, he served as Weakley County Education Association president, chairman of the board at the Greenfield Banking Company, Rotary Club member for 38 years, Greenfield alderman for 10 years and Greenfield mayor for 12 years.
“Weakley County is a really good place. We’re so blessed to live in a place where people say, ‘hi,’ and pat you on the back,” Biggs remarked. “We’re good neighbors.”
It was a night of recognition and even though weather threatened to knock out the lights, the praise for the county and the people representing it was glowing.
“The Chamber of Commerce is a great organization because of all of you. I challenge you to take that to heart,” Todd Hampton, the chamber president for 2010 said.
“Weakley County is going through tough times because of the Goodyear closing. We have to think of this as an opportunity to come together and accentuate our positives. I don’t mean to be a Pollyanna, but we’ll be fine and it’s because of our attitude. It’s never been more important for you to say something good about Weakley County.”
Newly-elected president Jake Bynum continued Hampton’s remarks.
“Our biggest obstacle is ourselves and our mindset,” he commented. “The brightest days are ahead if we join together. We must seek great ideas and be committed to a collective success.”In addition to recognizing the Weakley Countian of the Year, several other individuals were recognized including, Colleen Perkins ,who took the Youth Achievement Award, and Lynn Harper from Harper’s Wrecker Service in Martin, who took the Business of the Year Award.
Members of the Youth Leadership of Weakley County Class of 2011 included Brooke Baker, Falcon Belew, Sarah Casey, Callie Croom, Hunter Crouse, Magan Davis, Will Freeman, Yvee Garcia, Megan Jones, Tucker Kail, Paige Lowry, Abby Marshall, Austin Maxey, Taylor McAlpin, Hailey McGehee, Austin Perry, Rachel Roberts, Tony Robinson, Blake Taylor and Audrey Waterfield. Members of the Leadership Weakley County Class included Sheila Bell, Toya Bell, Alex Bynum, Lana Carpenter, Jennifer Hampton, Cheryl Lehmkuhl, Tyler Mitchell, Kate Moore, Don Parks, Nan Rountree, Monica Shumake, Scott Smith, Kayla Tyler and Steve Vantrease. 

wcp 4/28/11

Leave a Comment