Former director Carter tops TSSAA Hall list

Former director Carter tops TSSAA Hall list
HERMITAGE — Former TSSAA executive director Ronnie Carter has been selected as a 2011 Hall of Fame inductee by the state’s high school athletics governing body.
Carter served 31 years in the association — 23 of them as executive director.
Prior to that, Carter was a teacher and coach at Overton High School in Nashville. Carter was also involved with the National Federation of State High School Associations — serving on the football rules committee for 25 years, basketball rules committee for 12 years and the wrestling rules committee for four years.
Carter and 11 new Hall members will be inducted into the TSSAA Hall of Fame at a luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center in Murfreesboro April 9.
Long-time sports writer Larry Taft is also in ths year’s HOF class as a contributor.
Taft, the sports editor at The Tennessean, has covered high school sports for nearly 40 years. He first worked the boys’ state basketball tournament in 1973. He has also worked for the Knoxville News-Sentinel, The Democrat-Union (Lawrenceburg) and served as the director of media relations at TSSAA for 16 months.  
Aside from Carter and Taft, three other administrators, four coaches, two officials and one other contributor will be inducted into the TSSAA Hall.
Included in the list of other administrators set to be inducted are former Jackson North Side athletic director O’Neal Henley, Board of Control member Tommy Layne and Smyrna principal Robert “Bud” Raikes.
Alcoa’s Gary Rankin headlines the list of coaches to be inducted along with Hampton’s J.C. Campbell, Johnny Morgan of Etowah and the late Jake Rudolph of Memphis.
Officials Don Lady and Don Sutton are also set to be enshrined alongside contributor Jean Griffith.
Henley was the principal at both JNS and Jackson Central-Merry and instrumental in getting the “Best of the West” program implemented.
Layne is the principal as Sequatchie County, while Raikes is in his 37th year as the principal at Smyrna.
On the coaching side, Rankin has captured nine TSSAA state football championships in his career and his Alcoa teams have won the crown in each of the five years (2006-10) since he arrived there.
Campbell spent 41 years as the head football coach at Hampton and the football stadium there bears his name. He retired from the postion in 2008.
Morgan — the coach of the No. 1 rated McMinn Central (2A) squad — has led the Chargerettes’ program for 34 years.
Rudolph totaled 302 victories — 295 in 39 years at Memphis University School. His Owls won the TSSAA Class AA state championship.
Griffith has contributed in many different roles at a wide variety of state championship events. These include, but are not limited to, working the scoreboard at state golf tournaments, scoring for numerous track and field relays, and the presentation of medals at all state track meets. Her husband, Tommy, was inducted into the TSSAA Hall of Fame in 2001 in the coaches category.
Lady has been a baseball umpire for 40 years. Sutton officiated baseball, basketball, football and volleyball for over 30 years.
The Hall of Fame luncheon will begin at 11 a.m. on April 9. The luncheon is to not only honor the new inductees and their families, but to honor all past inductees into the TSSAA Hall of Fame. Tickets, which are $25, will go on sale on  Feb. 28 at  
There will be no ticket sales at the door.

Leave a Comment