Handgun carry class slated
Posted: Wednesday, February 16, 2011 2:47 pm
The Messenger 02.16.11
The University of Tennessee at Martin Office of Extended Campus and Online Studies is offering the Handgun Carry Class from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Saturday.
The instructor will be Brandon Kidd, state certified handgun instructor. The fee is $75.
This eight-hour course will provide participants with the minimum requirements mandated by the state to obtain a handgun carry permit. The class will cover the use, operation and basic cleaning of the handgun.
The first four hours will be devoted to classroom instruction and a written exam. The second four will be firing range instruction and practical exam.
Students must score a minimum of 70 percent on the written and practical exam to complete the course. This will allow the student to apply for a handgun carry permit in Tennessee.
Each student must be at least 21 years of age and have no felony convictions. Participants will need to provide a handgun, pen or pencil, paper, 50 rounds of ammunition appropriate for the handgun and hearing and eye protection. For more information, contact ECOS at (731) 881-7082 or online at http://www.utm.edu/departments/ecce/nondegree/home.php.