TSWA Hall class has great ‘Appeal’

TSWA Hall class has great ‘Appeal’
A pair of former sports editors of The Commercial Appeal in Memphis, a sports editor who worked both at The Daily Post-Athenian and The Chattanooga Times and a writer at The Knoxville News Sentinel are the 2011 inductees into the Tennessee Sports Writers Association’s Hall of Fame.
The TSWA voted the late David Bloom, Larry Fleming and Jimmy Hyams into the Hall of Fame along with Walter Stewart, a posthumous inductee. The 2011 induction ceremony will be held Thursday, July 14, at Cumberland University in Lebanon.
Stewart, who died Nov. 18, 1958, was sports editor of The Commercial Appeal and inducted into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.
Bloom’s career at The Commercial Appeal span-ned 50 years counting the Sunday columns he wrote for more than a year after he retired in January 1972. He started as a city desk reporter in 1923 after he graduated from the University of Virginia, where his writing skills first drew attention from the love letters he wrote for his classmates.
Bloom died in July 1973 at the age of 73.
Hyams is an award-winning writer and broadcaster who spent 13 years with The Knoxville News Sentinel. He left the newspaper in 1998 to become sports director for WNOX radio, where his sports-talk show has been rated No. 1 in Tennessee for years.
Hyams has been honored by the National Sportscasters and Sports-writers Association as Ten-nessee’s sportswriter of the year and sportscaster of the year — and believed to be the only person ever to win both the print and broadcast awards.
He also writes South-eastern Conference football previews for Lindy’s magazine and the SEC basketball preview for Street & Smith yearly. He is a co-founder of the Tennessee Sports Writers Association with Ron Higgins of The Commercial Appeal.
Fleming was sports editor at The Daily Post-Athenian between 1964-66 and moved to The Chattanooga Times, where he was a reporter from 1967-98.
• The TSWA also honored Cumberland University football coach Dewayne Alexander and Tusculum College quarterback Bo Cordell as the state’s college football coach and player of the year, respectively, for the 2010 season.
Alexander skippered the Bulldogs to an 8-3 season and was named the NAIA Region 1 Coach of the Year. It was Cumberland’s second eight-win season since the program was revived in 1990.
Other coaches to receive votes were Derek Dooley (Tennessee), Rick Stockstill (MTSU) and Russ Huesman (Chattanooga).
Cordell set a standard for quarterbacks, leading the nation (all NCAA divisions) in passing with 4,657 yards. A native of Cincinnati, Cordell was named the South Atlantic Conference Offensive Play-er of the Year, and finished fourth in the voting for the Harlon Hill Trophy, the Division II equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.
Other players to receive votes were Jamari Lattimore (MTSU), Tyler Bray (Tennessee), Terrence Holt (Austin Peay), Tauren Poole (Tennessee), Nick Reveiz (Tennessee) and B.J. Coleman (Chattanooga).

Leave a Comment