Presented awards

Presented awards

Posted: Wednesday, February 2, 2011 8:56 pm

Presented awards | Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 4862, Voice of Democracy, Patriot Pen

WINNERS ANNOUNCED — Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 4862 in Union City has announced 2010-11 Voice of Democracy and Patriot Pen scholarship contests winners. Voice of Democracy winners were (top, second from left and continuing) first place Meagan White; second place C.J. Walker and third place Hope Nabors. Miss White was also chosen as the first place winner for the Ninth District, representing northwest Tennessee. Patriot Pen winners were first place, Rachel Jones (bottom, second from left) and second place, Andrew Dobbins (second from right) and third place Stone Jones (not pictured). Miss Jones was also selected as the first-place winner for the Ninth District. Miss White’s Voice of Democracy entry and Miss Jones’ essay have been forwarded to VFW State Headquarters for judging at the state level. Presenting awards to the winners were ladies auxiliary president Jennifer Vickers and post commander James Jeffress. This program is available every year to all the youth in the community and offers them a chance to win up to a $30,000 scholarship. “We, as a community, should be proud to know that there is still a strong patriotic belief among the students that hold this country’s future in their hands,” a spokesman said. For more information on the current programs, go to and click on programs.

Published in The Messenger 2.2.11

, ,

Leave a Comment