Aug. 5 election certified, Dresden precinct changed

Aug. 5 election certified, Dresden precinct changed
As the chapter closes on the Aug. 5 election, the door opens for another election as election commissioners make preparations for the Nov. 2 election.
During a meeting held Thursday afternoon at the election commission office in Dresden, the commission voted unanimously to “certify” the Aug. 5 election, which sealed the deal for elected candidates.
They will be sworn into office on Wednesday, Sept. 1 at the Weakley County courthouse.
Commissioner Beau Pemberton re-confirmed with Weakley County Election Administrator Barbara Castleman that everything was in order to certify.
According to Castleman, everything was officially in order to certify the results of the election and no ballots were left uncounted.
The county election commission, along with other commissions across the state, had until Aug. 23 to certify the results of the Aug. 5 election.
In other news, election commission members voted to change the polling precinct in Dresden (District 9) due to a possible building name conflict.
“I would rather go ahead and do it now, than to wait until the last minute and be told to change the location,” election commissioner Kitty Soder commented.
The District 9 polling precinct in Dresden is located at the Dresden Senior Citizens Center, formally known as the Harmon and Lucille McWherter Civic Center.
Because “McWherter” is signed on the building, Castleman said there was a potential conflict as Mike McWherter was seeking the gubernatorial seat.
State law prohibits candidate signs or other paraphernalia on the property of polling precincts.
Castleman noted that when Johnny Vincent sought the state rep seat in the past, the District 7 polling precinct was temporarily moved to the Martin Middle School.
“This would only be a temporary move. This wouldn’t be forever and it’s good to make a decision now to get the word out in time for voters in November,” election commission chair Wayne Chester said.
The commission opted to re-locate the District 9 polling precinct to the First Baptist Church in Dresden for the Nov. 2 election.
The process has begun for the Nov. 2 municipal elections. Qualifying candidates in city races were approved by the commission during their Thursday meeting.
Those candidates include:
• Dresden Mayor – Joyce Hurt and Danny Forrester;
• Dresden Aldermen – Gwin Anderson, Robb Newbill, Ronnie Gearin;
• Greenfield Mayor – Eddie Joe McKelvy and Jimmie Witherspoon;
• Greenfield Aldermen – Michael Caudle, Billy Graves, Joe Grooms, Donald Ray High, John H. Liggett and Danny A. Nanney;
• Martin Mayor – Randy Brundige;
• Martin Alderman – Ward 1: Bill Harrison and Tony Prince; Ward 2: David Belote; Ward 3: Terry Hankins;
• Sharon Mayor – Monroe Ary;
• Sharon Aldermen – David Martin Hamlin, James Harris and Jason Plunk.
The race for Dresden mayor includes incumbent Forrester facing newcomer and alderwoman Joyce Hurt. Forrester announced his intent to retire in the spring of this year.
In the Greenfield mayoral race, incumbent McKelvy faces newcomer Jimmy Witherspoon. Of the six alderman candidates, voters will be asked to choose four aldermen.
The only contested race for the City of Martin is the alderman seat for Ward 1. Newcomer Prince is challenging incumbent Harrison to the seat.
Current Sharon Mayor Bob Gardner will not seek re-election. Ary is the only mayoral candidate in Sharon.
Of the three aldermen candidates, voters will be asked to choose two.
Early voting for the Nov. 2 election begins Oct. 13. The last day to register to vote for the Nov. 2 election is Oct. 4.

Leave a Comment