Skip to content

Bethel holds summer commencement

Bethel holds summer commencement

Posted: Tuesday, August 17, 2010 3:36 pm

One hundred fifty-five students were awarded degrees during Bethel University’s summer 2010 Commencement ceremonies on Saturday, Aug. 7 at the school’s Bouldin Auditorium. The honorable Dale Kelley, president of the Tennessee Municipal League and Mayor of the city of Huntingdon, served as speaker.
Kelley, a 1966 graduate of Bethel, said it was an honor to speak to the graduates.
“This is a time for me to remember my own graduation as well,” Kelley said. “In 1966, I sat where you are today thinking about my future and feeling very insecure about where I might go from that point. Now 44 years later, I can honestly say that Bethel holds a special place in my life. I attribute my personal successes to the education and foundation I received at Bethel.”
Kelley said that each Bethel graduate is called to be a good steward of the educational heritage at Bethel. He also talked about the qualities that make a good leader including knowledge, wisdom, discipline and perseverance, and he referred to Proverbs 1:7.
“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline,” he quoted.
Kelley also pointed out the meaning of commencement.
“You may consider this moment to be the conclusion of your education,” he said, “but commence means to begin. You are beginning a new journey of education for a lifetime. For the rest of your life you’ll be on a journey where you will continue to learn to think.”
Kelley urged graduates to step out, stretch and become too enthusiastic and to persevere until they achieved what they wanted.
Students graduating from Bethel’s College of Liberal Arts with a bachelor of science included: Willie Solon Cripps III of Hermitage; Felicia Nichole Etheridge of McKenzie; Nataly Arguello Gaona of McKenzie; Adam B. Griffin of Lebanon, Mo.; James Ryan Hensley of McKenzie; Eddie Jay King of Greenwood, Fla.; Bethany Joy Perrigan of Crossville; Heath Sharp of Fayetteville; and Michael Jervell Washington of Memphi.
Students graduating from Bethel’s College of Liberal Arts with a bachelor of arts included: Roger Dale Morris Jr. of McKenzie.
Graduating from the College of Professional Studies with the degree of bachelor of science were: Marcidas Adkins Oliver (Cum Laude) of Clarksville; Jackie Anderson (Cum Laude) of Memphis; Cassandra G. Barnes of Forrest City, Ark.; Brian S. Boren of Somerville; Terri L. Bowden of Henry; Lori-Ann Buckner (Magna Cum Laude) of Halls; Melinda Carole “Mendy” Carnell (Magna Cum Laude) of Newbern; Chelsey L. Chance (Magna Cum Laude) of Cleveland; Kylie Marie Collins of Murray, Ky.; Matonia Rachea Davis of Denmark; Brittney Nicole Dean of Cordova; Matthew Alan Duggin of Horn Lake, Miss.; Ruthene Ezell of Dyersburg; Aaron A. Ford of Cordova; Charmaine J. Freeman of Memphis; Bryan K. French (Cum Laude) of McKenzie; Michael Donavon Gann of Humboldt; Angela Denise Graham of Memphis; Anntonette Yvonne Gray of Lexington; Donna Karen Parker Hall of Humboldt; Linda Joyce Harvey (Summa Cum Laude) of Memphis; Latosha Hill of Crown Point, Ind.; Lakecia Linnette Hines of Jackson; Erica Nicole Hinson of Dickson; Justin C. Hobbs of Chattanooga; Randy Michael Horton of Harrison; Telisha Sharnell Houston of Cordova; Darrell R. Johnson of Clarksville; Janice Crawford Johnson of Memphis; Beverly F. Jones of Memphis; Connie Lee Jones of Nashville; Margaret Suzanne Ketchum of Dyersburg; Rosemary Davis Lampley of Memphis; Cynthia Lynn Langdon of LaVerne; Marlene Uilani Livesay of Clarksville; Kimberly G. Luckman (Summa Cum Laude) of Jackson; Sharon McCoy-Collins (Cum Laude) of Memphis; Chad Michael McDaniel of Martin; Libby Broglin Mansfield (Cum Laude) of Dyersburg; Antwanett L. Marshall of Cordova; Patricia A. Maxwell of Cordova; Wanda Jones Meeks of Memphis; Tomika La’Shaye Moore of Jackson; Kristina Marie Morgan of Murfreesboro; Tiffany Develyn Nance of Gates; Patricia Ann Neal (Cum Laude) of Clarksville; Tasha Renee Neal of Memphis; Holly M. Nichols of Jackson; Tameca Michelle Olden of Memphis; Regina Smith Parker of Seabrook, Texas; John W. Pemerton of Mt. Juliet; Harold Henry Pruitt (Magna Cum Laude) of Murray, Ky.; Beverly Denise Prye of Memphis; Julie M. Ray of Jackson; Monica A. Rockett of Dresden; Jackie B. Rolland of Clarksville; Eddie Undra Rone (Cum Laude) of Memphis; Regina R. Rowe of Memphis; Dawn Christine Sacks-Duke of McKenzie; Jeneka Latrice Shaw of Murfreesboro; Eva LaVerne Shelby of Clarksville; Amy Marie Sicurella of Bartlett; Russell Liddell Smith of Bartlett; Melanie B. Spears of Memphis; Lisa Woodard of McKenzie; Michelle Leigh Stallings of Nashville; Roosevelt Stewart, Jr. of Clarksville; Marco Sykes (Cum Laude) of Memphis; Dawn N. Terry of Halls; Lora A. Thomas of Greenfield; Brooks Hamilton Thompson of Hernando, Miss.; Kendall Cooper Thompson of Jackson; Janille Lorene Mosley Townsel of Memphis; Monica Lashette Tucker of Memphis; Stormi Gale Victory of Union City; Latarsha V. White-Shaw of Memphis; Twila D. White of Memphis; Yvonne Denise Williams (Magna Cum Laude) of Memphis; James R. Workman (Magna Cum Laude) of Union City; LaToya R. Wright of Memphis; and Barry Linn Yeager of Springville
Students graduating from Bethel’s College of Graduate Studies with a master of arts in education included: Erica C. Ashby-Kennedy of McLemoresville; Terrance M. Beard of Brownsville; Kayla DeAne Bomar of McKenzie; Larry Shane Britt of Reagan; Dana Lynn Cook of Centerville; Christopher Marshan Haliburton of Maury City; Eric Hampton of Decaturville; Jessica Hawkins Merrick of McKenzie; Julie Lynn Moody of Scotts Hill; Zach Renfro of McKenzie; Kenthia Barnes Revell of Union City; Bryan Andrew Sanders of Gleason; Brian James Webb of Paris; and Leah Nicole White of McKenzie.
Graduating from the College of Graduate Studies with a master of arts in teaching was: Kinsey Sudhoff of Brownsville. Students graduating from the College of Graduate Studies with a master of business administration included: Razmia Alshibli Alawi of Nashville; Charles Jeffrey Alsup of Prospect; Richard Courtney Amos of Paducah, Ky.; Abbe W. Anderson of Memphis; Charles Edward Anderson of Gleason; Sandra Ashley of Cumberland City; Bradley Scott Barber of Parsons; Elizabeth Reed Belew of Jackson; Joy Marie Berry of Memphis; Stuart Matthew Bloomfield of Memphis; Jay Chappelle of Corinth, Miss.; Brandon DaVon Colom of Tiplersville, Miss.; Roger D. Criner, Jr. of Dyersburg; Beverly Ann Foster of Smyrna; Melody Shea Goble-Smith of Nashville; George William Hammond of Olive Branch, Miss.; Kenneth M. Herring of Oak Ridge; William B. Howell of Nashville; Amy W. Jones of Jackson; Nellene Moye Jones of Millington; Rebecca Jules-Macquet of Clarksville; Cordiero Robert Laster of Parsons; Lynn Victoria Lockridge of Columbia; Steven Wesley McClain of Huntingdon; Seth Thomas Martin of Goodlettsville; Mark Ervin Mash of Paris; Vincent P. Messina of Hermitage; Kimberly Miller-Taylor of Memphis; Sharon F. Mooney of Ripley; Jessica N. Murphy of Trezevant; Aiman Saleh Nassar of Jackson; Herbert Lee Parsons Jr. of Memphis; Tonya Annette Pitts of Scotts Hill; Mario V. Price of Jackson; Joseph Ray Rochelle of Murfreesboro; Jadrea Kay Romines of McKenzie; Holly Rhea Ross of Humboldt; Kimberly K. Rule of Memphis; Laquencia D. Stigler-McNeil of Memphis; Brent Stutts of Halls; Audrey Smith Tate of Germantown; Shannon Michelle Thompson of Obion; Shana Marie Threadgill of Jackson; Ivyia Turner-Echols of Memphis; Keva Racheen Ussery of Lavergne; Anthony Edward White II of Memphis; Christopher S. Willis of Smyrna; Taj S. Wolff of Brentwood; and Lashare Demeka Woods of Jackson.
wcp 8-10-10

, ,

Leave a Comment