Skip to content

Local writer is finalist in contest

Local writer is finalist in contest

Posted: Wednesday, August 4, 2010 8:34 am

Local writer is finalist in contest | Sandra Robbins,American Christian Fiction Writers,Carol Award

Sandra Robbns
Martin writer Sandra Robbins is a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writer’s (ACFW’s) prestigious Carol Award, formerly known as the Book of the Year Award. The Carol Award honors the highest achievement for published authors of Christian fiction.
Robbins recently retired as Martin Elemenary School principal to become a full time writer. She has published two books, a mystery, “Pedigreed Bloodlines,” released from Barbour in 2008 and “Final Warning,” released from Steeple Hill in 2009. She is the wife of Guy Robbins and they have four children and five grandchildren.
With over 270 entries in this year’s contest, becoming a finalist is a noteworthy achievement. Sandra Robbins’ book “Final Warning,” finaled in the Short Contemporary Suspense category.
The Carol Award is named after former Bethany House Publishing editor Carol Johnson. In 1979, Mrs. Johnson made a bold move that served as a catalyst for unprecedented growth in Christian fiction. It was a decision that changed the face of the industry and the content of readers’ bookshelves. Mrs. Johnson championed Christian fiction by acquiring author Janette Oke, whose Love Comes Softly blazed a trail for future storytellers.
“ACFW owes a great debt of gratitude to Christian fiction pioneers,” says ACFW president Cynthia Ruchti, “including editor and visionary Carol Johnson who played a key role in helping Christian fiction make a mark in the publishing world.”
Asked to comment on Carol Johnson’s impact, Bethany House Publishers’ Vice President of Editorial David Horton notes, “Carol’s vision for the future of fiction, her belief in the power of story to share God’s truth, her respect for the art of writing, her trust in the editorial process, and her abiding concern for her authors set the course that Bethany House continues to follow today. Her acquisitions knocked open doors we now take for granted. The books she edited touched millions of lives.”
The Carol Award winners will be announced on September 19, 2010 during the awards banquet at the ACFW Annual Conference in Indianapolis, Indiana. Carol Johnson, the award’s namesake, and renowned author Janette Oke will serve as guest award presenters.
About ACFW: ACFW is devoted to training its writers, educating them in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional Christian fiction publishing industry. With more than 2100 members and 21 local chapters in 15 states as well as a beyond-the-borders e-chapter, ACFW speaks as The Voice of Christian Fiction. For more information about ACFW and the upcoming conference, visit or contact Angela Breidenbach, publicity officer, at 8-3-10

, ,

Leave a Comment