Handgun carry class scheduled during August at UT Martin
Posted: Wednesday, July 28, 2010 12:25 pm
The Messenger 07.28.10
The University of Tennessee at Martin Office of Extended Campus and Online Studies is offering a handgun carry class that will provide participants with the minimum requirements mandated by the state to obtain a handgun carry permit.
The session is planned for 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Aug. 21, with Brandon Kidd, state certified handgun instructor, conducting the class. The registration fee is $75.
The class will cover the use, operation and basic cleaning of a handgun. The first four-hour block will be devoted to classroom instruction and the written exam. The second four-hour block will be for firing range instruction and the practical exam. Participants must score a minimum 70 percent on both the written exam and practical exam to successfully complete the course.
Upon successful completion of this course, participants will be able to apply for a handgun carry permit from the State of Tennessee. Participants must be 21 years of age and have no felony convictions and will need to provide a handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition appropriate for the handgun, pen or pencil, paper, hearing and eye protection.
Advance registration is required.
To register, call ECOS at (731) 881-7082 or register online at www.utm.edu/departments/ecce/nondegree/home.php.