Skip to content

UC’s Dan Weber honored by TBA

UC’s Dan Weber honored by TBA

Posted: Monday, July 19, 2010 11:44 am

The Messenger 07.19.10
Daniel M. Weber has been named a Leader in Banking Excellence and the Tennessee Bankers Association will display a plaque in his honor at the TBA’s headquarters building in Nashville.
Weber, who most recently served as chairman of Community First Bancshares, is among an elite group that represents Tennessee bankers past and present who have excelled in the areas of banking, community service and civic involvement.
The banking industry veteran began his career in 1957 at First American National Bank in Nashville and went on to serve as president of Farmers Exchange Bank in Union City and First State Bank in Kenton.
Weber is a graduate of the Graduate School of Banking at LSU. He served as state chairman of the American Bankers Association and chairman of the Tennessee Bankers Association.
“Dan has been a leader in Tennessee’s banking industry and in Union City for more than 50 years,” TBA president Brad Barrett said. “His contributions to the banking industry and his community are immeasurable.”
Weber served in the Tennessee Army National Guard and as president of the Obion County Chamber of Commerce and the Obion County Industrial Development Council. He was founding director of Obion County Leadership.
In addition, Weber served as chairman of the U.S. Small Business Administration State Advisory Council and the Union City Electric System Power Board. He was president of the Union City Rotary Club and a recipient of the club’s Paul Harris Fellow Award.
Weber attends Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Union City and serves on the pastoral and finance councils.
He is married to the former Jean Smith and they have two sons, Mike and Steve.
Leaders in Banking Ex-cellence is an initiative by the TBA to recognize and celebrate exceptional bankers throughout Tennessee’s history, Barrett said.
A special plaque commemorating each honoree is displayed in the association’s headquarters building in Nashville.
TBA-member banks can submit nominations for the honor. The TBA board of directors reviews and approves the applications. Weber was nominated by Bob Cartwright, David Critchlow Sr., Peggy Drerup in memory of Jack Drerup, Newell Graham,  Jim White, Tony Gregory, the Kirkland Family, John Miles, Bill Simrell, Will Wade in memory of Tom Wade and Bart White in memory of Barry White.
“One of the main missions of the Tennessee Bankers Association is to encourage our members to be involved in making our industry better and in making their communities better places to work and live,” Barrett said. “The Leaders in Banking Excellence recognizes those who have made a difference, and we hope it will be an inspiration to other bankers across the state.”

, , ,

Leave a Comment