|New state law passes for commercial truckers |
|Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 1:19 pm |
|Nashville – The Tennessee Highway Patrol will add to its list of safety measures to enforce when an amended state law on lighting regulations for commercial motor vehicles takes effect on (today) July 1, 2010. |
The amendment, adopted by the Tennessee General Assembly, comes as a result of numerous close calls and serious injuries.
In summary, the law, TCA 55-9-405, was amended to say that any commercial vehicles transporting intrastate loads of logs, poles, etc., projected four feet or more beyond the rear, between one half hour before sunset and one half hour after sunrise, should have one amber strobe-type lamp or one amber light emitting diode (LED) visible from the rear and both sides of the load.
Additionally, both lamps should be detectable from a distance of at least 500 feet from the rear of the load.
No changes are required of commercial vehicles that transport intrastate loads that extend less than four feet at night or for loads that extend more than four feet but are transported during the allotted time frame (i.e. between the one half hour before sunset and one half hour after sunrise).
Commercial vehicle operators out of compliance are subject to a Class C misdemeanor, resulting in a $50 fine and the potential for up to 30 days in jail. To read the amended law in its entirety, visit http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1010.pdf. During a 30-day grace period, the THP will issue warnings from July 1 through Aug. 1. Citations will be distributed thereafter.