Skip to content

Remember when? Terry Petty wins as both player, sponsor in UC league

Remember when? Terry Petty wins as both player, sponsor in UC league
Remember when takes a look back at the local stories from the files of The Messenger that took place 1, 5, 10, 20 and 30 years ago.
30 Years Ago
July 1 — UT Martin signed Memphis prep basketball standout Darrell Smith to scholarship papers. Smith, who played at Melrose, averaged 11 points, 10 rebounds and three blocks per game during his senior campaign. He was also a member of the 1978 state championship team at the school. Melrose posted an 89-16 record the past three years.
July 2 — Reelfoot claimed the championship in the Obion County Little League. Team members were Brent Cranford, Kelvin Kendall, Chris Cook, Joe Bennett, Mike Hogg, Brad Davis, Brian Cranford, Chuckie Yates, Kevin Darnall, David Stafford, Ed Montgomery, Mike Rondolff, Pat Johnson, Keith Kendall and Richard Hogg. Johnny Johnson was the team’s coach.
20 Years Ago
July 2 — Buddy’s Wrecker Service claimed both the regular season and postseason championship in the Union City Minor League. Team members were Andy Vallee, Jason Craig, Steven Miller, Jonathan Miller, Jason Ams, Chris Bing, Jonathan Halliday, Jeremy Greer, Ricky Tate, Dallas Jordan, Dustin Jordan and Robert Nelson. Coaches for the team were Steve Miller, Trent Ams, Mike Jordan and Brian Nelson.
July 6 — Terry Petty whipped Mt. Arant 26-0 in Union City Co-ed Softball League play. Terry Petty’s namesake was 4-for-5 during the victory as was Tammy Wayne. Donald Baggett was the winning pitcher. Otherwise, Red Cheatham and Kenneth Thompson were both 3-for-5 for the victors. Tim Williams absorbed the defeat for Mt. Arant.
10 Years Ago
July 3 — Storey Sawmill claimed the championship of the Obion County Babe Ruth League. Team members were Aury Kangelos, Brian Goletto, Denver Storey, Ben Hager, Chris Chism, Dustin Darnall, D.J. Gammons, Jacob McKinnis, Wes Moore and Chad Dawson. Virgin Griffin was the team’s manager, while Mike Chism and James Clark were coaches.
July 6 — Keith Frazier added more to his plate. Already the South Fulton assistant principal, athletic director, football defensive coordinator and a baseball assistant, Frazier accepted the job as the school’s girls’ basketball coach. Frazier replaces Dale Hollowell, who resigned the post to become the principal at South Fulton Middle School. Frazier was previously the head girls’ basketball coach at Greenfield, Dyer County and Lewis County. All totaled, he has a 99-180 worksheet as a girls’ prep mentor.
5 Years Ago
July 6 — South Fulton’s Maddie Carrington was named to the Tennessee Sports Writers Association All-State team. Carrington posted a 15-3 record with a minuscule 0.81 earned run average during her senior season. The Devilette hurler struck out a total of 119 hitters and issued just 10 walks in 95 innings of work. She also hit .468 and drove in 20 runs.
July 7 — Matt Russell, Larry Baker, Eric Beardsley, Doug Durkee and Rob Joyner combined to card a 10-under-par and win the weekly golf scramble at Poplar Meadows Country Club. The combination of Jody Kizer, Steve Conley, Bill Thompson, Terry Wiseman, Bim Barker and Bryan Barker teamed for an 8-under and second place at the weekly event.
1 Year Ago
July 2 — Union City’s 14-and-under softball team finished second in the state. Team members were Rachel Fowler, Alexis Coleman, Aranda Tate, Claire Jackson, Calla Ziegler, Sadie Hollis, Allyson Parker, Mollie Stone, Amber Fair, Brittany Parker and Betty Claire Beachum. Jack Parker, Lane Jackson and Todd Stone served as coaches.
July 7 — The Union City Greyhounds won their franchise-record eighth game in a row — an 8-2 decision in Game 2 of a Kitty League doubleheader with Owensboro. UC claimed a victory in the opener by a 5-3 tally. In the second contest, winning pitcher Brett Wilson struck out 11 to keep the Oilers at bay. Union City scored one run in the first, two in the second and five in the third. The evening’s opener had Andrew Edge with a three-run homer for the ’Hounds, while Brian Yeung and Justin Guidry were both 2-for-3. Michael Willis was the winning pitcher.
Published in The Messenger 6.30.10