Skip to content

UT Martin faculty members recognized at Honors Day

UT Martin faculty members recognized at Honors Day

Posted: Monday, May 10, 2010 12:50 pm

The Messenger 05.10.10
Five University of Tennessee at Martin faculty members were honored with awards for outstanding achievements in scholarship, citizenship, teaching and advising during the recent Honors Day program.
Dr. David Barber, assistant professor of history, and Dr. Chris Caldwell, professor of mathematics and statistics, received the Cunningham Outstanding Teacher/Scholar Award.
The Cunningham Outstanding Teacher/Scholar Award of $5,000 was established in 1993 by James R. Cunningham, who attended UT Junior College in the 1930s. It is awarded annually to faculty members who have demonstrated strength in teaching and made a contribution to the teaching profession through scholarly activities, extracurricular achievements and leadership responsibilities.
Dr. Lisa LeBleu, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences chair and professor, re-ceived the University of Tennessee Alumni (UTAA) Outstanding Teacher Award.
Each year, the UTAA presents awards of $2,000 to faculty members on each of the UT campuses who have been selected as outstanding teachers.
Students, alumni and faculty nominate outstanding teachers, who then are evaluated on classroom performance, scholarship and service.
Dr. Patricia A. Hewitt, professor of educational studies, received the Outstanding Advisor Award.
The Outstanding Advisor Award of $1,000 and a plaque are presented to the faculty member selected for demonstrating a caring attitude toward advisees, availability to advisees, monitoring student progress toward academic and career goals and the ability to engage in developmental advising and other distinctive characteristics. The recipient also is eligible for the national award competition sponsored by the American College Testing Program and the National Academic Advising Association.
Paula H. Moore, associate professor of accounting and business law, received the Coffey Outstanding Teaching Award.
The Coffey Outstanding Teaching award of $5,000 was established in 1998 by Mai and Charlie Coffey and is awarded annually to a faculty member who demonstrates strength in teaching and contributes to the teaching profession through extracurricular achievements, leadership qualities and scholarly activities.


Leave a Comment