Skip to content

McGuire re-elected; Smith gets full term

McGuire re-elected; Smith gets full term

Posted: Wednesday, May 5, 2010 9:02 pm
By: Donna Ryder, Associate Editor

Associate Editor
It appears Obion County will retain its current leaders.
Obion County Mayor Benny McGuire, who was up for re-election, and Obion County General Sessions Judge Jimmy Smith, who was appointed to the position after the retirement of Judge Raymond Morris, won their races Tuesday night during the Democratic primary.
McGuire, who was running for a second term, saw opposition from long-time county commissioner Trena Taylor. He received 2,384 votes to her 587. Broken down by precincts, those votes included 147 for McGuire to 55 for Taylor in South Fulton, 247 to 49 at the Eddie Cox Senior Center, 181 to 48 at the Woodland Mills Community Center, 83 to six at Kenton gym, 205 to 51 at Rives Fire Station, 266 to 71 at the Obion County Fairgrounds, 105 to five at Cloverdale, 202 to 44 in Hornbeak, 79 to 36 in Samburg, 339 to 71 at Troy Senior Center, 103 to 23 at Obion Senior Center and 427 to 128 at Obion County Public Library. Those numbers include registered voters who cast their ballots during the early voting period.
“I feel humbled and proud to be supported again by the residents of Obion County for a second term,” McGuire said at his home Tuesday night while surrounded by his family members. “I am the mayor for all the people of Obion County and I will perform the duties to the best of my ability for the next four years.
“I am proud to be a part of everything going on in Obion County. I will work hard to support Obion County for our future generations,” he said, adding, “I want to thank Mrs. Taylor for running a clean race.”
The numbers were closer in the race for General Sessions judge, where Smith saw opposition from attorney Jim Powell. Smith won the Democratic primary 1,976 to Powell’s 1,007. Those votes broken down by precincts included 121 for Smith to 84 for Powell in South Fulton, 184 to 115 at the Eddie Cox Senior Center, 152 to 78 at the Woodland Mills Community Center, 42 to 44 at Kenton gym, 160 to 96 at Rives Fire Station, 193 to 147 at the Obion County Fairgrounds, 78 to 32 at Cloverdale, 194 to 53 in Hornbeak, 78 to 39 in Samburg, 306 to 109 at Troy Senior Center, 100 to 27 at Obion Senior Center and 368 to 183 at Obion County Public Library.

“It is quite an honor to have my selection by the Obion County Commission confirmed by the voters,” Smith said. “This campaign has been hard work and I salute Jim Powell, who joined me in setting forth a positive campaign. That is rare in the world of modern campaigns, but is part and parcel of what the good people of Obion County have a right to expect from office seekers. I wish Jim the best.
“I also want to thank Judge Raymond Morris for the standard he set over the last 30 years in being a common-sense judge who always did his best to do what was right and fair. I will try to continue to follow that example.
“Last, but not least, I want to say thank you to my family and friends who have gone above and beyond in their support of me and without whom none of this would have been possible. I am truly blessed,” he said.
Other county officials running for re-election did so unopposed. They include county trustee Lori Seals, who received 2,530 votes; Sheriff Jerry Vastbinder, who received 2,579 votes; Circuit Court clerk Harry Johnson, who received 2,523 votes; county clerk Vollie Jean Boehms who received 2,567 votes; and register of deeds Vicky O. Long, who received 2,545 votes.
Because this election was the Democratic primary, the names of the winners will appear on the August ballot, though no one has submitted the appropriate paperwork to be listed on that ballot to run against them. Anyone wishing to run as a write-in candidate for the August election must submit the appropriate paperwork to the election office before June 16 at noon.
Associate Editor Donna Ryder can be contacted by e-mail at
Published in The Messenger 5.5.10

Leave a Comment