Skip to content

County meeting set

County meeting set

Posted: Friday, January 8, 2010 11:54 am

The Messenger, January 8, 2010

The Obion County Legislative Body will meet 9 a.m. Jan. 19 in the circuit courtroom at the Obion County Courthouse in Union City.

Items on the agenda under “old business” include reports from the Joint Economic Development Council and the Legislative Committee, appointment of medical investigator(s) and a resolution and agreement for the transfer of funds in an amount not to exceed $3 million to the Obion County Board of Education.

Under “new business,” the commission will consider the following:

• resolutions to amend the General Purpose School Fuind in the amounts of $42,796 and $1,500;

• a request for approval of a loan application with either the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Rural Development or Gibson Electric Membership Corporation in the amount of $287,000, to be used as matching funds for the Airport Runway Extension Project;

• a resolution to approve the “official road map” of Obion County;

• the naming of board and committee members including: Agriculture Committee (now serving, Jimmy Seals and Paul Albright and to replace Bill Sellers and Camille Fishel); Budget Committee (now serving, Danny Jowers, Dewayne Hensley, Allen Nohsey, Polk Glover, Ralph Puckett, Jerry Grady and Steve Rice); Courthouse Committee (now serving, Steve Goodrich, Seals, Richard Arnold, William Kane, Terry Roberts, Hensley and Kenneth Cheatham); Ethics Committee (now serving, Nohsey, Donnie Braswell, Roberts, Harry Johnson and Roger Williams); County Board of Health (now serving, Mayor Benny McGuire, Drs. John Cummings, Kirk Stone, Grover Schleifer, Ed Reese and Leland Davis and David Huss, Terry Prather and Bobby Russell); County Historian (now serving, Nohsey); Museum Board (now serving, Genie Ullrich, Marti Eakin Doss and Tracey Batey); Nuisance Law, Health and Safety Standards board (now serving, Billy Jack Cranford); and County Surveyor (now serving, Bob Nichols).

Also on the agenda is a presentation honoring the Union City High School Golden Tornado football team as “Class A State Champions” and the approval of Notary Public applications.

Boards and committees to be considered for the March term include Emergency Communications District (now serving, Polk Glover, Mark Watson and Bob Reavis); Board of Equalization (now serving, David Fowler, John Snead, Billy Clark and Dianne Sanderson); and Highway Commission (now serving, Larry Gray in District 2 and Malcolm Cook in District 7 and to fill the vacancy in District 3 created by the death of David Jacobs).

The session will be open to the public.


Leave a Comment