Skip to content

Area Phi Kappa Phi chapter honored

Area Phi Kappa Phi chapter honored

Posted: Wednesday, September 9, 2009 12:13 pm

The Messenger 09.09.09
The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently recognized the University of Tennessee at Martin chapter as a Chapter of Merit.
This award, in its first year, is given to chapters that not only comply with the society’s national standards, but also demonstrate an active commitment to excellence.
By receiving the Chapter of Merit distinction, UT Martin’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter, organized in 1971, is being recognized as a thriving organization that meets frequently, holds annual initiations and applies frequently for Phi Kappa Phi’s select scholarships, grants and fellowships.
The Chapter of Merit Award includes a citation from the Society president, a commendation letter sent to chapter officers and campus administration, special recognition on Society Web site, publications and at Phi Kappa Phi’s National Convention, specially designed logo for use in chapter communications and a $100 award.
Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni.
The society has chapters on more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.
Since its founding, more than one million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, NASA Astronaut Wendy Lawrence, writer John Grisham, opera singer Renee Fleming, journalist and broadcaster Deborah Norville and Netscape founder James Barksdale.
The society has awarded about $13 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932.
Today, more than $800,000 is awarded annually to qualifying members and non-members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives.
The society’s mission is, “To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

, ,

Leave a Comment