Skip to content

Coaches pick Gators to repeat

Coaches pick Gators to repeat

Posted: Friday, July 24, 2009 4:10 pm

HOOVER, Ala. (AP) — Florida was a landslide pick to repeat as Southeastern Conference champions.
All but one of 64 media members voting at the league’s media days picked the Gators to win the title. Mississippi received one vote in balloting released Friday.
Florida was a unanimous pick to win the Eastern Division title, followed by Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vanderbilt and Kentucky. The Gators are defending national champions, led by Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Tim Tebow and middle linebacker Brandon Spikes.
Alabama edged out LSU and Ole Miss in balloting in the West. Arkansas, Auburn and Mississippi State rounded out the West voting.
The predicted order of finish with first-place votes in parentheses and total points, with the fewest:
SEC Champion: Florida (63), Mississippi (1).
Eastern Division
1. Florida (64) 64
2. Georgia 133
3. South Carolina 217
4. Tennessee 258
5. Vanderbilt 217
6. Kentucky 355 Western Division
1. Alabama (33) 109
2. LSU (15) 145
3. Mississippi (16) 149
4. Arkansas 245
5. Auburn 309
6. Mississippi St. 387.


Leave a Comment