Skip to content

Obion County FFA honors members

Obion County FFA honors members

Posted: Tuesday, June 2, 2009 8:01 pm

Obion County FFA chapter recently honored its members for their activities during the school year.

The meeting was conducted by the organization’s officers: president, Jordan Jones; vice president, Blake Stephens; secretary, Katherine Parker; treasurer, Chelsie Darnell; reporters, Jacob Bloodworth and Stetson Ford; sentinel, Jeremy Green; chaplain, Clay Craddock; and student advisor, Kyle McClure.

State FFA vice president John Schultz was also on hand and spoke of the hard work put forth by the local chapter during the past year.

Members who were recognized included:

Dairy Judging — Jacob Bloodworth, Rob Berner, Dalton Lewis, BJ Laird, Heather Farley and Ashley Scarborough. The team place fourth in district.

Ag Sales — Ethan Jacobs, Jordan Jones, Katherine Parker, Blake Stephens, Brooke Ferrel, Liesel Grossner, Caroline Guy and Emily Taylor. The team placed first in district and ninth in state.

Soils Judging — Chelsie Darnell, Teal Ford, Ethan Jacobs, Mason Shumate, Jimmy Ring, Lauren Berner, Rob Berner, Hadline Blurton, Jacob Bloodworth and Nick Wilson. The team place second in district.

Livestock Judging — Liesel Grossner, Corey Ferguson, Jordan Jones, Blake Stephens, Chelsie Darnell, Rob Berner, Lauren Berner, Spenser Maloney, Garrett McDaniel, Devin Cranford and Ethan Jacobs. The team placed first in district and fifth in state.

Opening and Closing Ceremonies — Laura Beth Shelton, Lilly Keeling, Morgan Jacobs, Audrey Bowling, Garrett Dunn, Dalton Lewis, Alex Bugg, Brandon Woody, Stetson Ford, Teal Ford, Chelsie Darnell and Hadline Blurton. The team placed fifth in district.

Creed Speaking — Laura Beth Shelton. She placed fifth in district.

Prepared Speaking — Chelsie Darnell. She placed fourth in district.

Job Interview — Jacob Bloodworth. He placed second in district.

Quiz Bowl — Jordan Jones, Katherine Parker, Blake Stephens and Teal Ford. They placed second in district.

Horse Judging — Lauren Berner, Jordan Jones, Chantelle Barns, Ashley Scarborough, Kelsey Barns and Lindsey Rainey. They placed first in district and second in state.

Floriculture — Clay Craddock, Teal Ford, Taylor Gooch and Chantel Montgomery.

Nursery — Chelsie Darnell, Jacob Bloodworth, Kyle McClure and Clay Craddock. The team placed second in district.

Upper Division Skills — Chelsie Darnell, Clay Craddock, Jeremy Green, Garrett McDaniel, Rob Berner and Dustin Rainey. The team placed fourth in district.

Forestry — Chelsie Darnell, Stetson Ford, Taylor Gooch and Chantelle Montgomery. The team placed first in district.

Greenhand degrees — Chelsea Bing, Audrey Bowling, Alex Bugg, James Clouse, Garrett Dunn, Ashton Eddlemon, Seth Fulbright, Taylor Gooch, Morgan Jacobs, Lillie Keeling, Dalton Lewis, Dustin Rainey, Ashley Scarborough, Laura Beth Shelton, Meaghen Strayhorn, Nick Wilson and Brenan Woody.

Star Greenhand — Garrett Dunn.

Chapter degrees — Mikey Arnett, Chantelle Barnes, Kelsey Barnes, Lauren Berner, Rob Berner, Hadeline Blurton, Devin Cranford, Heather Farley, Teal Ford, Spenser Maloney, Garrett McDaniel, Brodie Parrish and Chance Williams.

Star Chapter FFA member — Rob Berner.

Star Chapter degree in Animal Science — Blake Stephens.

Star Outgoing Attitude Award — Katherine Parker.

Star Senior CDE Award — Jordan Jones.

Star Farmer — Ethan Jacobs.

Star in Ag Mechanics — Kyle McClure and Clay Craddock.

State FFA degrees — Clay Craddock, Katherine Parker, Jeremy Green, Jacob Bloodworth and Kyle McClure.

Scholarship recipients — Clay Craddock, Jordan Jones and Blake Stephens. Each will receive a $500 scholarship during their second semester of college.

New officers installed during the banquet include: president, Chelsie Darnell; vice presidents, Jeremy Green and Garrett McDaniel; secretary, Teal Ford; treasurer, Rob Holman; reporters, Hadeline Blurton and Lauren Berner; chaplain, Rob Berner; historian, Taylor Gooch; sentinel, Spenser Maloney; class representatives, Ashley Scarborough, Chantel Montgomery and Alex Bugg.

Published in The Messenger 6.2.09

Leave a Comment