Skip to content

UC School Board earns status as a Board of Distinction

UC School Board earns status as a Board of Distinction

Posted: Wednesday, December 31, 2008 10:42 am

The Messenger 12.31.08

The Union City School Board was honored as a Board of Distinction at the recent 71st Tennessee School Boards Association annual convention in Nashville.
The TSBA began the Board of Distinction Program in 1998 in order to recognize outstanding performance by a school board as a whole in the areas planning, policy, promotion and board development.
In addition to the Union City board, other school boards recognized for having achieved Board of Distinction status include Anderson County, Ath-ens, Bedford County, Bristol, Clarksville-Montgomery County, Clinton, Dekalb County, Dyersburg, Franklin Special, Greene County, Greeneville, Hamblen County, Hawkins County, Haywood County, Hickman County, Jackson-Madison County, Johnson City, Johnson County, Kingsport, Knox County, Lincoln County, McMinn County, Memphis, Milan Special, Oak Ridge, Rhea County, Roane County, Scott County, Sequatchie, Shelby County, Sullivan County, Sweetwater, Trenton Special, Tullahoma, Unicoi County, Washington County and Weakley County.
School board members from across the state attended the TSBA’s three-day annual convention recently held in Nashville, where they met to share best practices, discuss changes in public education and discuss ways public schools can be improved. The convention featured a legal workshop, community relations workshop, special interest sessions and more than 20 clinic sessions designed to provide the latest data and information to those who oversee Tennessee’s public education system.

, ,

Leave a Comment