Skip to content

Parade winners told

Parade winners told

Posted: Monday, December 15, 2008 1:07 pm

 The Messenger. 12.15.08

Winners from Samburg’s recent Christmas parade are being announced.

Samburg Assembly of God claimed the Judges’ Choice Award and Samburg Baptist Church took home the Large Float Award. The Small Float Award went to James Palmer for Boss Hoss Tryke.

In the Best Organizational Float or Entry, the Union City Police Department Charger Car won first, followed by Obion County Rescue Squad, the Obion County Sheriff’s Department in third place and the Obion County Constables in fourth.

The Best Government or School Entry went to Obion County Career Technology Center, with Hornbeak Police Department coming in second; Samburg City Police, third; and Lake County EMS, fourth.

Obion County Central High School Rebel Marching Band took first place for bands and Tiptonville National Guard Armory won Best Military.

In the Classic Vehicles division, first place went to Charlie Conn, second to Bobby Crocker, third to Jesse Whitesides, fourth to Cathy Lugo, fifth to Dale Jenkins, sixth to Bobby Crocker, seventh to Jeremy Haynes and eighth to Cody Finch.

Best Decorated ATV prizes went to Gracie and Mari Hanna Cole for first place, to Jason Thomas for second, to Payton Dean for third, to Jordan Davis for fourth, to Amanda Smith and Jennifer Adair for fifth and to Jarred Wilcut for sixth.

Mayci Hogg’s family claimed the prize for Best Decorated Horse and Buggy.

Parade participants winning prizes for their decorated bicycles included Laken Margo, who took home first place; Jonathan Blackley, second, Brenda Williams, third; Kaigann Margo, fourth; Dustin Minnick, fifth; Hayden Adair, sixth; Autumn Smith, seventh; and Anna Adair, eighth.

Best Decorated Horse honors went to Jeremy Smith for first place and Beth Minnick for second.

The Best Miniature Car prize was claimed by John Parker Dean. The Best Religious Float honors went to Hornbeak Baptist Church, with Hornbeak Pentecostal Church coming in second.

Coca-Cola claimed the prize for Best Business Float, followed by Cash Express, C.W. Sanderson, Buddy’s Wrecker Service and Eagle 103 Radio Station.

The Best Decorated Truck belonged to Butch Caksackkar and the second place award went to Becky and Shane Hoffman.

The Best Decorated Motorcycle prize was claimed by Richard Hoffman, with Cody Driver taking home the Best Decorated Go Cart prize.

Leave a Comment