Skip to content

Rural West TN stamp on numerous All-Stars

Rural West TN stamp on numerous All-Stars
Rural West Tennessee will be well-represented at the second annual Toyota Tennessee Athletic Coaches Association All-Star Classic football game in Jefferson City on Dec. 13.
For starters, the West team will have Camden head coach Kevin Ward at the helm, with Crockett County mentor P.A. Pratt and Jackson South Side skipper Carey Craig both serving as assistants.
On the field, Region 7-1A is tentatively set to be represented by McKenzie linebacker Jacob Fussell.
Playing for the West squad and carrying the Region 7-3A banner is a duo from Haywood — defensive tackle Terrance Turner and linebacker Altarius Douglass.
Also named to the team from the 7-3A ranks is Dyersburg running back Jason Click and Crockett County guard George Morin.
At quarterback for the West team is Class 4A Mr. Football Back of the Year Marsalis Teague — a Henry County product. Teague will alternate time with Milan’s Justin Coleman, who’ll lead the Bulldogs into the Class 2A state finals Friday vs. four-time reigning champion Alcoa.
Teague’s Patriot teammate Dominique Allen is also on the West team as a fullback.
At wide receiver, Bolivar Central’s Mitch Ross will be one of the two rural West Tennessee natives to get the invite to the game, with Liberty’s Keenan Hulsey the other.
Otherwise, on defense, Liberty’s Jeremy Conley is also a linebacker.
Meanwhile Coach Ward will get to mentor Camden defensive back Andy Travis once more in the game that features many of the top players in the Volunteer State.
All totaled, 13 Mr. Football finalists and six winners of the award are slated to take to the field.
Of those 13 standout players, eight will suit up for the West squad.
On that team, Teague, the 4A Mr. Football Back of the Year who saw his season come to an end on Friday in the semifinals of the playoffs for the third straight year, will be joined by fellow Mr. Football winners Zach Rogers (David Lipscomb), Preston Gilbreath (Mount Pleasant), Benjamin Cunningham (Goodpasture) and finalists Blaine Boone (White House), Mason Sharp (Lewis County), Eric Gordon (Hillsboro) and Kane Crowell (Lewis County).
On the East side, South Pittsburg’s David Jones, who beat out Union City’s Colton Speed for the 1A Back Mr. Football award, has been named to the team as has 4A Mr. Football Lineman Justin Smith (Maryville).
Also on the East team are Mr. Football finalists Kevin Revis (Rhea County), Will Jackson (Farragut) and Jared White (Trousdale County).
Players for the All-Star Classic were selected based upon nominations from high school coaches throughout the state of Tennessee.
The game will be played at Carson-Newman College with the kickoff set for 11 a.m. local time.
Admission is $6 at the gate or tickets can be picked up for free at Toyota dealerships throughout Tennessee.

Leave a Comment