Skip to content

Former Dresden Lion named semifinalist for national award

Former Dresden Lion named semifinalist for national award
Former Dresden Lion named semifinalist for national award | Dresden Lions, Bethel College Wildcats, Justin Dubruiel, 2008 Draddy Trophy, Dresde, McKenzie, Tennessee

Semifinalist — Former Dresden Lion and current Bethel College Wildcat Justin Dubruiel is a finalist for the 2008 Draddy Trophy. The award honors outstanding student athletes.
Former Dresden Lion and current Bethel Wildcat offensive lineman Justin Dubruiel has attracted national attention for his work in the classroom and on the football field.
Selected as the best and brightest from the college gridiron, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced the 164 semifinalists for the 2008 Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth, and the candidates for the 2008 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards. Dubruiel, a senior, has been named to the list and is one of only 12 selected from the NAIA. This is the second consecutive year and second time ever that a Bethel lineman has been named to the list.
“The Draddy Trophy is one of college football’s most sought after and competitive awards,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Draddy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “It recognizes an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership, and we’re incredibly proud to select the next winner from this remarkable group of semifinalists.”
Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. Established to honor former NFF Chairman Vincent dePaul Draddy, a Manhattan College quarterback who developed the Izod and Lacoste brands, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship.
“The Draddy semifinalists represent everything good about college football,” said NFF President and CEO Steven J. Hatchell. “They are another fine example of how football builds leaders, and it is the NFF’s duty to promote their accomplishments while encouraging future generations of gridiron standouts to aim high on and off the football field.”
Notable NFF National Scholar-Athlete alumni include NFL standout Derrick Brooks (Florida State); actor Mark Harmon (UCLA); NASA astronaut Leland Melvin (Richmond); former Dateline NBC anchor Stone Phillips (Yale); chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, home of the Masters Tournament, Billy Payne (Georgia); famed NFL quarterback Steve Young (BYU); and Heisman Trophy winners Terry Baker (Oregon State), Gary Beban (UCLA); Doug Flutie (Boston College) and Danny Wuerffel (Florida).

Leave a Comment