Skip to content

Obion County woman among delegates to national convention

Obion County woman among delegates to national convention
The Tennessee 8th District Democratic Party has announced its delegates to the National Democratic Convention, including Judy Barker of Obion County.
Union City native and Jackson resident Mike McWherter, who chaired the selection process at the 8th District convention Feb. 23, said the delegates were based on vote totals from the Feb. 5 Democratic primary.
The 8th District was allotted three delegates for Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton and two delegates for Sen. Barack Obama. The delegates are elected by representatives sent from each individual county in the district.
In addition to Mrs. Barker, Clinton delegates include Anthony Land of Haywood County, Ann Strong of Crockett County and alternate Jack Cunningham of Gibson County.
Obama delegates include Robert Davie of Tipton County and Will Radford of Carroll County.
Also qualifying to compete for delegate seats were Melba Isom of Dickson County and Betsy Reid of Haywood County.
“We were all honored to be working together on the decisions that will help make 2008 a historic year for our party and our country,” said McWherter, Democratic Party supporter and son of former Gov. Ned McWherter. “It was great to see so many strong Democratic Party leaders from across West and Middle Tennessee come together with the shared goal of electing a Democrat to the White House this year so we can lead the United States in the right direction.”
The 8th District spans 19 counties from inner-city Memphis to the Kentucky border and over to the Nashville suburbs. It includes all of Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dickson, Dyer, Gibson, Haywood, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, Obion, Stewart, Tipton and Weakley Counties and portions of Montgomery and Shelby counties. It is currently represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Congressman John Tanner of Union City.
Published in The Messenger 3.5.08

Leave a Comment