Skip to content

Residents can cast votes during early voting period

Residents can cast votes during early voting period

Residents can cast votes during early voting period | Obion County, early voting

Obion County adminstrator of elections Katie Guess (front) and deputy clerk Barbara York
Early voting in Obion County started Wednesday and will continue through Jan. 31.
Votes may be cast at the Obion County Election Office, located at 308 Bill Burnett Circle behind the courthouse in Union City, from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Mondays through Fridays and Saturdays from 9 a.m. until noon. The office will be closed this Monday for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day.
Registered voters must declare a party in order to vote in the election. Only those residents who select to vote in the Democratic preference primary may vote for the Obion County assessor of property.
Katie Guess, administrator of elections, has stated to The Messenger that no residents filed the appropriate paperwork by the deadline to be a candidate for assessor of property in the general election in August. Therefore, the winner of the Democratic primary will be the only name on the ballot in November. Because of election rules in Tennessee regarding write-in ballots, no names will be counted in that category should voters decide to cast a vote for someone not on the ballot. Residents who wish to be considered as write-in candidates must file the appropriate paperwork with the election office to be considered and no one did that before the set deadline, according to Mrs. Guess.
Registered voters who select the Democratic preference primary will be asked to cast one vote locally for the assessor of property. Names on the ballot include Gordon Fox, David Godwin, Robert George Kendall, Kathy P. Robertson and Judy Smith.
Names on the Democratic presidential primary ballot include Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton, Chris Dodd, John Edwards, Mike Gravel, Dennis Kucinich, Barack Obama and Bill Richardson. Voters will also have the opportunity to select uncommitted.
Residents who decide to vote in the Republican presidential preference primary will be asked to select a presidential candidate from the field which includes Rudy Giuliani, Mike Huckabee, Duncan Hunter, Alan Keyes, John McCain, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, Tom Tancredo and Fred Thompson. Voters will also have the opportunity to select uncommitted.
Registered voters may select 12 delegates at large. They include:
• Those committed to Huckabee — Emily G. Beaty, Robert Arthur Bennett, H.E. Bittle III, Beth G. Cox, Kenny D. Crenshaw, Melissa B. Crenshaw, Dan L. Hardin, Cynthia H. Murphy, Deana Persson, Eric Ratcliff, Edna Elaine Saltsman, John Bruce Saltsman Sr., John “Chip” Saltsman Jr., Kari H. Smith, Michael L. Smith and Windy J. Smith;
• Those committed to McCain — Todd Gardenhire and Justin D. Pitt;
• Those committed to Paul — William M. Coats, Garrett Coffer, Jonathan Dimock, Mark Wayne Ernest, Richard Esparza, Sarah Franks, Charles Jackson, Laura Jones, Michael Jones, Michelle R. Lancaster, Justin McCord, Ronald Myers, Matthew Rideout, Mahmood (Michael) Sabri, Cheryl Scott, Joanna C. Simmons, Richard Szczech, Stephen Thurmond, Steven Warhurst, Vincent Whitright and Will Williams;
• Those committed to Romney — Michael Brant Bell, Damon Wesley Drake, Edith B. Hudson, Michael Patrick Leahy, Michael R. McCusker, Rodney C. Miller, James Moss, Nancy D. Wells and Kim Willms.
• Those committed to Thompson — Rob Ailey, John W. Bellis, Jim Bryson, Tim Burchett, Steven Buttry, Glen Casada, John Wayne Cropp, Drew Daniel, Bill Gibbons, Dolores Gresham, Elizabeth Holiway, Bill Landrum, June Landrum, Tom Leatherwood, Barbara McAndrew, Ron Ramsey, Baker D. Ring, Susan Richardson Williams and Jamie Woodson;
• Those who are uncommitted — Renee Danesh, Terri Freels, Jim Fuqua, Roger W. Griffith, Lee Dustin Rush, Willard Summers, Mark West and Harold Dean Wilson.
Three eighth congressional district delegates will be selected from:
• Those committed to Huckabee — Heath Bush and Lucy S. Overstreet;
• Those committed to Paul — Joy A. Bryant, Sam T. Bryant, Aaron R. Kavli and Kevin Riggs;
• Those committed to Romney — Betty G. Anderson, Bobby Dee Anderson and Scott N. Weinert;
• Those committed to Thompson — Scott Golden, Mary Littleton, Barbara N. Stegall, Ben J. Thompson and James H. Wallace Jr.
Election Day will be Feb. 5.
Later in the year, Samburg will be electing a new mayor and two aldermen, while Kenton will pick new board members for its special school district. Though that election won’t be until August, residents wishing to run for those offices need to pick up qualifying papers at the election office. They must be submitted before noon on April 3.
Published in The Messenger 1.18.08


Leave a Comment