Skip to content

At the college level

At the college level

The Messenger 01.09.08

Nikki Hill and Natalia Weatherspoon, both of Union City, have been named to the Dean’s List at West Tennessee Business College in Jackson.
To be named to the Dean’s List, they had to maintain a 95 or above average for the past enrollment period that ended Dec. 14.

— — —

Obion County Central High School student Ariel Tanski and Union City High School student Sarah Reese were among students who attended the 2007 Commonwealth Honors Academy at Murray (Ky.) State University who received certificates of recognition during a recent return visit to the campus.
Miss Tanski, Miss Reese and 108 other students participated in the three-week academic scholarship program. Students completing the academy receive six hours of college-level credit and have the opportunity to take six additional hours, tuition-free, at MSU during their senior year in high school.
They also receive a four-year housing scholarship if they choose to attend college at MSU.
Outstanding juniors from Kentucky, Tennessee, southeast Missouri and southern Illinois are chosen to take part in the program.
To qualify for the 2008 Commonwealth Honors Acad-emy, students must have a 3.5 grade point average and an ACT score of 25 (or the equivalent SAT, PSAT or PLAN score). Information about the 2008 academy can be found online at

, , , , , ,

Leave a Comment