Rhonda Vincent to Release Seventh Rounder Album

Rhonda Vincent to Release Seventh Rounder Album

Burlington, MA – Rhonda Vincent – the fiery vocalist, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter dubbed “the new queen of bluegrass” by the Wall Street Journal – is set to release her new album Good Thing Going on Jan. 8. In addition to receiving an unprecedented seven consecutive “Female Vocalist of the Year” awards from the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), being named IBMA’s 2001 “Entertainer of the Year,” and being the co-author of the 2004 IBMA “Song of the Year,” Vincent was nominated for a 2005 Grammy® award for “Best Bluegrass Album” for Ragin’ Live. Good Thing Going follows up her two 2006 Rounder releases, All American Bluegrass Girl and her first holiday album, Beautiful Star: A Christmas Collection.

Since her first Rounder release, 2000’s Back Home Again, Vincent has met with increasing acclaim for her dynamic, infectious take on bluegrass. Her gift for balancing classic bluegrass sounds with subtle contemporary touches is featured throughout Good Thing Going. Gleaming with hope, resilience, and gratitude, Vincent presents a set of songs that range from timelessly straight-ahead bluegrass to effervescent swing and heartfelt ballads. Joining her on the album are the members of her stellar road band the Rage on several cuts, and some very special guests including Jesse McReynolds (Jim & Jesse), Russell Moore (III Tyme Out), Bryan Sutton, Becky Issacs, Kathy Chiavola and country music impresario James Stroud. The album was co-produced by Rhonda and her brother Darrin Vincent (of Dailey & Vincent), at Rhonda’s own studio, Adventure Studios in Nashville.

The 12 tracks that make up Good Thing Going include five originals or co-writes, alongside a range of contemporary and classic cover tracks. Good Thing Going is her most personal, autobiographical project yet. “I have never written five songs to include on an album,” she remarks. “I have to be inspired to write a song…but there’s been no shortage of inspiration lately.” From the hard-driving bluegrass “Hit Parade of Love” (an old Jimmy Martin tune and longtime concert favorite) to tender balladry “I Give My Love to You” (a touching original ballad, performed as a duet with Russell Moore) to the rollicking, playful autobiographical title track and the concert favorite, “Bluegrass Saturday Night” Rhonda proves once again she is the queen of bluegrass.

Vincent will continue her ongoing U.S. tour in 2008 in support of Good Thing Going starting on January 18th. For a complete schedule go to www.rhondavincent.com or www.rounder.com.

Track list for Good Thing Going:
1. I’m Leavin*
2. Good Thing Going*
3. I Give All My Love to You (with Russell Moore)*
4. Bluegrass Saturday Night*
5. I Will See You Again
6. Who’s Cryin’ Baby
7. Scorn Of A Lover*
8. Just One Of A Kind
9. World’s Biggest Fool
10. I Gotta Start Somewhere
11. Hit Parade Of Love
12. The Water Is Wide (with Keith Urban)

*original or co-written by Rhonda Vincent
Posted 1.2.08

, ,

Leave a Comment