Skip to content

Westview’s Moore a Mr. Football finalist

Westview’s Moore a Mr. Football finalist
Westview's Moore a Mr. Football finalist | Mr. Football finalists, Harrison Moore, Tennessee Mr. Football, Westview Chargers

Finalist — Westview senior Harrison Moore is one of three finalists for the Class AA Mr. Football Back Award.
Continuing a blue-and-gold tradition of statewide recognition, Westview Charger senior Harrison Moore is one of three finalists for the Class AA Mr. Football Back Award.
“I think it’s a very well-deserved honor,” WHS head coach Don Coady said. “He’s been a mainstay on both sides of the football for us the last couple of years.”
Moore’s competition for the award are Randall Cobb from Alcoa and Region 8-2A foe Kendal Harper from Peabody.
The 6-0, 196-pound standout worked as both quarterback, free safety and kick returner for Westview. He has reached the end zone this season via rushing, kickoff return, punt return and fumble return in addition to throwing for two touchdowns. He has more than 2,000 total yards of offense from rushing, passing and returning in 2007.
Defensively in 2007, he topped the 100-tackle plateau for the third time in his career and also intercepted four passes.
“When we’ve needed a big play, he’s made it,” the Charger coach noted.
The award will be presented Dec. 3 in Nashville. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2007 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.
This is the 23rd year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. Plaques will be presented to 30 other finalists.
Approximately 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2007 luncheon.

West Tennessee was well represented among the full list of finalists.

1A Lineman
Alex Matlock, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central
Robert Robinson, South Pittsburg
Aaron Yates, Jo Byrns

2A Lineman
Dakota Crews, Lewis County
Elijah Epperson, Humboldt
Chase Horton, Camden Central

3A Lineman
Rogers Gaines, White House
Dont’a Hightower, Marshall County
Beau Liljenquist, Dyersburg

4A Lineman
Slade Adams, Mt. Juliet
Aaron Douglas, Maryville
Brandon McLeroy, Rhea County

5A Lineman
Mike McAdoo, Antioch
David Spurlock, Riverdale
LaDarrius Verge, Riverdale

DII-A Lineman
Blair Arrington, Davidson Academy
Hunter Cowan, St. George’s
Ben Popeck, St. George’s

DII-AA Lineman
Preston Bailey, MBA
Barrett Jones, Evangelical Christian
DeAndre Jones, MUS

1A Back
Derek Carr, McKenzie
Marco Dailey, Mt. Pleasant
Chad Jordan, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central

2A Back
Randall Cobb, Alcoa
Kendal Harper, Peabody
Harrison Moore, Westview

3A Back
Jeremy Holt, David Lipscomb
Tremaine Hudson, Howard
Deaunte Mason, Pearl-Cohn

4A Back
Brent Burnette, Maryville
Curt Phillips, Sullivan South
Jacquese Seward, Hillsboro

5A Back
Jeff Link, White Station
Andre Sterling, Farragut
Rodriguez Wilks, Smyrna

DII-A Back
Marlon Brown, Evangelical Christian
H.R. Greer, SBEC
Grant Jessen, St. George’s

Ben Bartholomew, MBA
Adam Currie, Evangelical Christian
Chris Jordan, Brentwood Academy

Kicker of the Year
Mike Hammons, Polk County
Cody Jones, Jackson Christian
Kase Whitehead, William Blount