Skip to content

Grant Money Coming To Gleason And Dresden

Grant Money Coming To Gleason And Dresden
U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN) and Bob Corker (R-TN) joined U.S. Representative John Tanner (D-TN-08) Wednesday in applauding $212,000 in grant funding for community development projects in the City of Gleason and $209,839 to the City of Dresden under the Delta Regional Authority (DRA) Federal Grant Program.
The grants awarded to the cities of Gleason and Dresden will be used to improve sanitation and water systems and promote economic development in the area.
“This grant means jobs and growth in Weakley County,” said Alexander, a memberof the Senate Appropriations Committee, which sets funding levels for the program. “I’m pleased to see the Delta Regional Authority is continuing to invest in improvements to water and sanitation systems, as well as economic development in the Volunteer State.”
“This grant will ensure citizens in Dresden and Gleason continue to receive essential sewer services,” said Corker. “I appreciate the Delta Regional Authority’s efforts to improve water infrastructure and encourage economic growth in Tennessee communities.”
“One of the most important investments we can make for the security and prosperity of our communities is quality infrastructure around which private industry can continue to thrive,” said Tanner. “I am proud of the economic progress we are making and know that with programs such as these, we will continue making Northwest Tennessee a great place for our families.”
The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) helps economically distressed communities in eight states to improve their basic infrastructure, transportation, business development and job training services through additional federal and state dollars. The federal DRA co-chairman determines eligibility for submitted pre-applications, and the governor of each state selects funding recipients in accordance with the state’s DRA economic plan.
Congress annually appropriates funding for DRA operations and its federal grant program, which is allocated between eight states including Tennessee.

Leave a Comment